Skip to main content
added 135 characters in body
Source Link
Michael
  • 163
  • 1
  • 1
  • 6

I recently got a Wahoo Kickr Core indoor direct drive trainer. I already have a Garmin Fenix 5X and a Garmin 820. (I use Training Peaks for my workout information.) I have no idea what to do now. I guess I want to connect them probably using ANT+. Do I want to connect both Garmins to the trainer, or just one of them?

How do I change the resistance? Do I use the Wahoo App on my phone or one of the Garmins? Is there some way to make the trainer simulate one of the rides I did last summer based on data saved somewhere in one of the Garmins?

The goal is to find some way to ride the trainer and have something simulating a "real" outdoor ride: hills, changes in resistance, etc. I'm not at all sure how to do this, or if it's even possible. I don't really want to subscribe to Zwift or Trainer Road at this time. I'd rather just get on the bike and feel like I have the ability to control the resistance or that it's changing it in some logical way.

Are there Youtube videos, a website, or something similar out there I could learn from. My searching has found lots of videos on how to connect, but not what to do with them after they are connected.

I recently got a Wahoo Kickr Core indoor direct drive trainer. I already have a Garmin Fenix 5X and a Garmin 820. (I use Training Peaks for my workout information.) I have no idea what to do now. I guess I want to connect them probably using ANT+. Do I want to connect both Garmins to the trainer, or just one of them?

How do I change the resistance? Do I use the Wahoo App on my phone or one of the Garmins?

The goal is to find some way to ride the trainer and have something simulating a "real" outdoor ride: hills, changes in resistance, etc. I'm not at all sure how to do this, or if it's even possible. I don't really want to subscribe to Zwift or Trainer Road at this time. I'd rather just get on the bike and feel like I have the ability to control the resistance or that it's changing it in some logical way.

Are there Youtube videos, a website, or something similar out there I could learn from. My searching has found lots of videos on how to connect, but not what to do with them after they are connected.

I recently got a Wahoo Kickr Core indoor direct drive trainer. I already have a Garmin Fenix 5X and a Garmin 820. (I use Training Peaks for my workout information.) I have no idea what to do now. I guess I want to connect them probably using ANT+. Do I want to connect both Garmins to the trainer, or just one of them?

How do I change the resistance? Do I use the Wahoo App on my phone or one of the Garmins? Is there some way to make the trainer simulate one of the rides I did last summer based on data saved somewhere in one of the Garmins?

The goal is to find some way to ride the trainer and have something simulating a "real" outdoor ride: hills, changes in resistance, etc. I'm not at all sure how to do this, or if it's even possible. I don't really want to subscribe to Zwift or Trainer Road at this time. I'd rather just get on the bike and feel like I have the ability to control the resistance or that it's changing it in some logical way.

Are there Youtube videos, a website, or something similar out there I could learn from. My searching has found lots of videos on how to connect, but not what to do with them after they are connected.

added 51 characters in body
Source Link
Michael
  • 163
  • 1
  • 1
  • 6

I recently got a Wahoo Kickr Core indoor direct drive trainer. I already have a Garmin Fenix 5X and a Garmin 820. (I use Training Peaks for my workout information.) I have no idea what to do now. I guess I want to connect them probably using ANT+. Do I want to connect both Garmins to the trainer, or just one of them?

How do I change the resistance? Do I use the Wahoo App on my phone or one of the Garmins?

The goal is to find some way to ride the trainer and have something simulating a "real" outdoor ride: hills, changes in resistance, etc. I'm not at all sure how to do this, or if it's even possible. I don't really want to subscribe to Zwift or Trainer Road at this time. I'd rather just get on the bike and feel like I have the ability to control the resistance or that it's changing it in some logical way.

Are there Youtube videos, a website, or something similar out there I could learn from. My searching has found lots of videos on how to connect, but not what to do with them after they are connected.

I recently got a Wahoo Kickr Core indoor direct drive trainer. I already have a Garmin Fenix 5X and a Garmin 820. I have no idea what to do now. I guess I want to connect them probably using ANT+. Do I want to connect both Garmins to the trainer, or just one of them?

How do I change the resistance? Do I use the Wahoo App on my phone or one of the Garmins?

The goal is to find some way to ride the trainer and have something simulating a "real" outdoor ride: hills, changes in resistance, etc. I'm not at all sure how to do this, or if it's even possible. I don't really want to subscribe to Zwift or Trainer Road at this time. I'd rather just get on the bike and feel like I have the ability to control the resistance or that it's changing it in some logical way.

Are there Youtube videos, a website, or something similar out there I could learn from. My searching has found lots of videos on how to connect, but not what to do with them after they are connected.

I recently got a Wahoo Kickr Core indoor direct drive trainer. I already have a Garmin Fenix 5X and a Garmin 820. (I use Training Peaks for my workout information.) I have no idea what to do now. I guess I want to connect them probably using ANT+. Do I want to connect both Garmins to the trainer, or just one of them?

How do I change the resistance? Do I use the Wahoo App on my phone or one of the Garmins?

The goal is to find some way to ride the trainer and have something simulating a "real" outdoor ride: hills, changes in resistance, etc. I'm not at all sure how to do this, or if it's even possible. I don't really want to subscribe to Zwift or Trainer Road at this time. I'd rather just get on the bike and feel like I have the ability to control the resistance or that it's changing it in some logical way.

Are there Youtube videos, a website, or something similar out there I could learn from. My searching has found lots of videos on how to connect, but not what to do with them after they are connected.

Source Link
Michael
  • 163
  • 1
  • 1
  • 6

How to set up a Kickr Core to work with my Garmin, dynamically change "elevations" (resistance), etc

I recently got a Wahoo Kickr Core indoor direct drive trainer. I already have a Garmin Fenix 5X and a Garmin 820. I have no idea what to do now. I guess I want to connect them probably using ANT+. Do I want to connect both Garmins to the trainer, or just one of them?

How do I change the resistance? Do I use the Wahoo App on my phone or one of the Garmins?

The goal is to find some way to ride the trainer and have something simulating a "real" outdoor ride: hills, changes in resistance, etc. I'm not at all sure how to do this, or if it's even possible. I don't really want to subscribe to Zwift or Trainer Road at this time. I'd rather just get on the bike and feel like I have the ability to control the resistance or that it's changing it in some logical way.

Are there Youtube videos, a website, or something similar out there I could learn from. My searching has found lots of videos on how to connect, but not what to do with them after they are connected.