Skip to main content
Became Hot Network Question
Tried to save the question by editing the language
Source Link
Grigory Rechistov
  • 14.3k
  • 2
  • 30
  • 60

HiI saw a crankset usingmade of 2014-T6 aluminum alloy (so it claimswas claimed) aluminum.

ReadI read that it'sthis alloy is somewhere in between a 6061 and 7075 in terms of strength. SawI also learned that it is also more brittle than the other both 7075 &and 6061. But the thing that caught my was attention was it'sits bad corrosion resistance.

  According to the https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2014_aluminium_alloyWikipedia:

"TheThe corrosion resistance of this alloy is particularly poor."

Hence I'm curious isif it is worth to get a chainring made of 2014-T6? I'mI am more interested in it'sits durability as I'mI am not into any competitive riding.

Other than from corrosion, do I need to worry about other formtypes of failures?

Especially if anyone who has used one before.

Thanks

Hi saw a crankset using 2014-T6 (so it claims) aluminum.

Read that it's somewhere in between a 6061 and 7075 in terms of strength. Saw it is also more brittle than the other both 7075 & 6061. But the thing that caught my was attention was it's corrosion resistance.

 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2014_aluminium_alloy

"The corrosion resistance of this alloy is particularly poor."

Hence I'm curious is it worth to get a chainring made of 2014-T6? I'm more interested in it's durability as I'm not into any competitive riding.

Other than corrosion, do I need to worry about other form of failures?

Especially if anyone who has used one before.

Thanks

I saw a crankset made of 2014-T6 aluminum alloy (so it was claimed).

I read that this alloy is somewhere in between 6061 and 7075 in terms of strength. I also learned that it is also more brittle than both 7075 and 6061. But the thing that caught my attention was its bad corrosion resistance. According to the Wikipedia:

The corrosion resistance of this alloy is particularly poor.

Hence I'm curious if it is worth to get a chainring made of 2014-T6? I am more interested in its durability as I am not into any competitive riding.

Other than from corrosion, do I need to worry about other types of failures?

Source Link
Edmund Fong
  • 303
  • 2
  • 4
  • 8

2014 vs 6061 vs 7075 aluminium components

Hi saw a crankset using 2014-T6 (so it claims) aluminum.

Read that it's somewhere in between a 6061 and 7075 in terms of strength. Saw it is also more brittle than the other both 7075 & 6061. But the thing that caught my was attention was it's corrosion resistance.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2014_aluminium_alloy

"The corrosion resistance of this alloy is particularly poor."

Hence I'm curious is it worth to get a chainring made of 2014-T6? I'm more interested in it's durability as I'm not into any competitive riding.

Other than corrosion, do I need to worry about other form of failures?

Especially if anyone who has used one before.

Thanks