Skip to main content
edited title
Link
Criggie
  • 128.1k
  • 15
  • 186
  • 439

Is a tyre with sideways movementbulge going to cause damage to the rim or the hub or the axelaxle?

added 266 characters in body
Source Link
user31142
user31142

My Schwalbe Marathon plus tour 26'' x 2.0 has a sideways bulge (both rear and front). In between the 2 tyres and tube there is a anti puncture strip.

The rim seems not to be the problem.

I think the strip is the cause of the tyre's sideways movement. The tyre is already tight/difficult to mount. With the strip mounting is even harder.

Will such a bulge / sideways movement eventually (i.e. in the long term) cause damage (e.g. by bending) the rim, hub, axel, or bearings ?

I am interested in the consequences of this sideways movement not how to fix it.


Update

The bulge is not pronounced. It is at a single spot. I see it when looking down on the tyre (bicycle is flipped over and resting on saddle). When spinning the wheel the tyre suddenly moves right then left (wobble). This happens over 10degrees arc.

I cannot determine the tyre pressure. I've pumped the tyre hard - my guess 3bar. I used soapy water between the rim and tyre.

My Schwalbe Marathon plus tour 26'' x 2.0 has a sideways bulge (both rear and front). In between the 2 tyres and tube there is a anti puncture strip.

The rim seems not to be the problem.

I think the strip is the cause of the tyre's sideways movement. The tyre is already tight/difficult to mount. With the strip mounting is even harder.

Will such a bulge / sideways movement eventually (i.e. in the long term) cause damage (e.g. by bending) the rim, hub, axel, or bearings ?

I am interested in the consequences of this sideways movement not how to fix it.

My Schwalbe Marathon plus tour 26'' x 2.0 has a sideways bulge (both rear and front). In between the 2 tyres and tube there is a anti puncture strip.

The rim seems not to be the problem.

I think the strip is the cause of the tyre's sideways movement. The tyre is already tight/difficult to mount. With the strip mounting is even harder.

Will such a bulge / sideways movement eventually (i.e. in the long term) cause damage (e.g. by bending) the rim, hub, axel, or bearings ?

I am interested in the consequences of this sideways movement not how to fix it.


Update

The bulge is not pronounced. It is at a single spot. I see it when looking down on the tyre (bicycle is flipped over and resting on saddle). When spinning the wheel the tyre suddenly moves right then left (wobble). This happens over 10degrees arc.

I cannot determine the tyre pressure. I've pumped the tyre hard - my guess 3bar. I used soapy water between the rim and tyre.

added 171 characters in body
Source Link
user31142
user31142

My Schwalbe Marathon plus tour 26'' x 2.0 has a sideways bulge (both rear and front). In between the 2 tyres and tube there is a anti puncture strip.

The rim seems not to be the problem.

I think the strip is the cause of the tyre's sideways movement. The tyre is already tight/difficult to mount. With the strip mounting is even harder.

Will such a bulge / sideways movement eventually (i.e. in the long term) cause damage (e.g. by bending) the rim, hub, axel, or bearings ?

I am interested in the consequences of this sideways movement not how to fix it.

My Schwalbe Marathon plus tour 26'' x 2.0 has a sideways bulge (both rear and front). In between the 2 tyres and tube there is a anti puncture strip.

The rim seems not to be the problem.

I think the strip is the cause of the tyre's sideways movement.

Will such a bulge / sideways movement eventually (i.e. in the long term) cause damage (e.g. by bending) the rim, hub, axel, or bearings ?

My Schwalbe Marathon plus tour 26'' x 2.0 has a sideways bulge (both rear and front). In between the 2 tyres and tube there is a anti puncture strip.

The rim seems not to be the problem.

I think the strip is the cause of the tyre's sideways movement. The tyre is already tight/difficult to mount. With the strip mounting is even harder.

Will such a bulge / sideways movement eventually (i.e. in the long term) cause damage (e.g. by bending) the rim, hub, axel, or bearings ?

I am interested in the consequences of this sideways movement not how to fix it.

Source Link
user31142
user31142
Loading