Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

11
  • 51
    We both neglected to mention the crucial reason: it makes us feel pretty. :P
    – Scott
    Commented Aug 25, 2010 at 20:16
  • 1
    Yeah, the answer must include prettiness :) Yeah, wind resistance is not the reason, but many beginners seem to thing so. Commented Aug 25, 2010 at 20:19
  • 7
    I used to think air resistance didn't matter shaved legs vs no, but after watching that Discovery Channel Tour de France special(s) where they demonstrated how even clothing seam placement has effect on drag - I'm curious to see what effect leg hair really has on aero.
    – kkeilman
    Commented Aug 25, 2010 at 20:58
  • 6
    I started because of cleaning/crashing when I raced x-country. I continue because my wife thinks it's sexy and my cycling legs look hot. Really for all but the top riders on the Tour wind resistance is just what people say to justify it to themselves and others. I think you might go faster b/c you can see muscle definition and the placebo effect kicks in but that's it for mortals. Commented Aug 25, 2010 at 22:41
  • 4
    I can't find the source right now, but allegedly there were studies that showed that you get the least wind resistance if you shave your legs not completely, but leave stripes of hair in strategic places. I'm not making this up, I keep hearing it from veteran cycling commentators every now and then.
    – RegDwight
    Commented Sep 3, 2010 at 0:12