Skip to main content

Timeline for Are my cable disc brakes knackered?

Current License: CC BY-SA 3.0

8 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jan 17, 2018 at 16:31 comment added yollooool Nah, it's just a really, really thin layer, only just notice it because it's bright white; even if it does, I'll spot it before I go on a ride. :)
Jan 14, 2018 at 20:47 comment added Nathan Knutson Grats on making it work. I will note that putting grease at that spot makes me a little nervous of the possibility of it one day migrating, with the help of rain and muck, to the braking surface.
Jan 14, 2018 at 17:45 comment added yollooool I will also add that I had used a bit of grease on the guide along the caliper itself that allows the cable to channel neatly when you've let go of the lever. I think this had absolutely no affect on the braking whatsoever, though it has reduced residual brake drag/release delay after braking, allowing the cable to slide along it freely. The pad slightly touches the disc on the static pad side, but I can live with that sound in exchange for the increased braking power. Hopefully I'll be able to attack some stairs and some off-roading! Thanks again, everyone for all the help!
Jan 14, 2018 at 17:41 comment added yollooool Having checked on the bike, this worked perfectly; Loosening off the caliper and caliper carrier bolts, I proceeded to place a piece of paper within the gap of the rotor and the braking pad material. Following that, I clamped down on the lever and tightened the static-pad adjustment screw until it started bringing the lever's 'biting point' towards about 50% action, before tightening down the caliper carrier and caliper mounting bolts. The brakes aren't nearly as powerful as that on my road bike, but they can actually raise the back end of the floor and allow me to skid a good distance.
Jan 14, 2018 at 17:38 vote accept yollooool
Jan 13, 2018 at 21:17 comment added yollooool "Most mechanical brakes perform their best when adjusted so that the armature starts out near the beginning of its range of motion. The mechanical advantage characteristics of the brake change throughout its travel. So when setting up a brake, always try to get the arm as close to that point as you can while still having all the slack pulled out of the cable." This makes a lot of sense to me. Having been working on cars for a while, the parking brake on disc brakes for cars work the same way as brake discs on cars, and those have to be set as stated. I'll have a go at trying this fix soon!
Jan 10, 2018 at 8:58 comment added Criggie "reset the barrel adjuster" I hate to think how many times that one has caught me out.
Jan 10, 2018 at 7:29 history answered Nathan Knutson CC BY-SA 3.0