Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

8
  • 6
    They also don't bunch up anywhere.
    – Rebekah
    Commented Aug 25, 2010 at 20:09
  • I do not thinking the Spandex part is necessarily the wicking part, but since they are thinner the moisture more easily moves around.
    – geoffc
    Commented Aug 25, 2010 at 20:14
  • 2
    @Johan - clarified: I thought the shorts looked weird. My coworkers still make fun of me when I come in wearing my shorts, but they don't have much to say when I point out that my butt isn't sore after riding in because of them! Commented Aug 25, 2010 at 20:44
  • 2
    I much prefer wool over Lycra for form-fitting or loose cycling clothes. It doesn't smell even after multiple sweaty rides and breathes much better than most fabrics I've worn. Added bonus: wool garments are usually less garish and logo-bedecked. So, my answer would be there is no benefit to Lycra! Commented Aug 25, 2010 at 23:11
  • 1
    If it's padding in the shorts you want, you don't need to go with spandex. There are bike shorts you can buy that have the padding, but otherwise look like regular shorts. I suppose you can wear them without underwear, too (if you want) but I don't do that (TMI, I know). Commented Sep 11, 2010 at 22:14