Skip to main content
deleted 20 characters in body
Source Link
geoffc
  • 2.9k
  • 2
  • 27
  • 28

My Litespeed Tachyon, a 1996 model, of which I am the second owner, (So Litespeed will not honour the warranty) has now developed its 3rd crack.

First was in the seat tube above the deraullier and I got that welded successfully in 2005 and have been riding it ever since.

Turns out the bottom bracket, and the right side of the rear stays have developed cracks.

I am trying to find a welder in New Jersey who will weld Ti, and will probably try it, since they charge about $50-100 to do it. (My big delay is that I have to take off the chain ring for him to get at it, and I keep forgetting to bring the tool that takesmy crank puller to remove the chain ring off the bottom bracket. Oh whats the name again?)

Anyone else done this? My first experience worked pretty well. Trying to decide if I should do it again. I am too cheap to buy a new Ti bike, and I have to say, I love Ti as a frame, and am completely happy with the bike otherwise.

(I have now cracked a Ti seat rail, a seat tube, a Ti front stem (twice!), and now two more places on my Ti frame. Perhaps there is a hint here. I am a big guy, but this is Ti! It is strong stuff!)

My Litespeed Tachyon, a 1996 model, of which I am the second owner, (So Litespeed will not honour the warranty) has now developed its 3rd crack.

First was in the seat tube above the deraullier and I got that welded successfully in 2005 and have been riding it ever since.

Turns out the bottom bracket, and the right side of the rear stays have developed cracks.

I am trying to find a welder in New Jersey who will weld Ti, and will probably try it, since they charge about $50-100 to do it. (My big delay is that I have to take off the chain ring for him to get at it, and I keep forgetting to bring the tool that takes the chain ring off the bottom bracket. Oh whats the name again?)

Anyone else done this? My first experience worked pretty well. Trying to decide if I should do it again. I am too cheap to buy a new Ti bike, and I have to say, I love Ti as a frame, and am completely happy with the bike otherwise.

(I have now cracked a Ti seat rail, a seat tube, a Ti front stem (twice!), and now two more places on my Ti frame. Perhaps there is a hint here. I am a big guy, but this is Ti! It is strong stuff!)

My Litespeed Tachyon, a 1996 model, of which I am the second owner, (So Litespeed will not honour the warranty) has now developed its 3rd crack.

First was in the seat tube above the deraullier and I got that welded successfully in 2005 and have been riding it ever since.

Turns out the bottom bracket, and the right side of the rear stays have developed cracks.

I am trying to find a welder in New Jersey who will weld Ti, and will probably try it, since they charge about $50-100 to do it. (My big delay is that I have to take off the chain ring for him to get at it, and I keep forgetting to bring my crank puller to remove the chain ring off the bottom bracket.)

Anyone else done this? My first experience worked pretty well. Trying to decide if I should do it again. I am too cheap to buy a new Ti bike, and I have to say, I love Ti as a frame, and am completely happy with the bike otherwise.

(I have now cracked a Ti seat rail, a seat tube, a Ti front stem (twice!), and now two more places on my Ti frame. Perhaps there is a hint here. I am a big guy, but this is Ti! It is strong stuff!)

Source Link
geoffc
  • 2.9k
  • 2
  • 27
  • 28

Experience with welding Titanium frame?

My Litespeed Tachyon, a 1996 model, of which I am the second owner, (So Litespeed will not honour the warranty) has now developed its 3rd crack.

First was in the seat tube above the deraullier and I got that welded successfully in 2005 and have been riding it ever since.

Turns out the bottom bracket, and the right side of the rear stays have developed cracks.

I am trying to find a welder in New Jersey who will weld Ti, and will probably try it, since they charge about $50-100 to do it. (My big delay is that I have to take off the chain ring for him to get at it, and I keep forgetting to bring the tool that takes the chain ring off the bottom bracket. Oh whats the name again?)

Anyone else done this? My first experience worked pretty well. Trying to decide if I should do it again. I am too cheap to buy a new Ti bike, and I have to say, I love Ti as a frame, and am completely happy with the bike otherwise.

(I have now cracked a Ti seat rail, a seat tube, a Ti front stem (twice!), and now two more places on my Ti frame. Perhaps there is a hint here. I am a big guy, but this is Ti! It is strong stuff!)