Skip to main content
7 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Apr 23, 2019 at 10:19 history edited Swifty CC BY-SA 4.0
gender neutral language
May 22, 2015 at 12:38 comment added heltonbiker I agree the second and third points are a bit speculative, but the "bending-around-crossing" technique gives the spoke a characteristic shape that I haven't seen in any other wheel than the ones I laced myself, be it machine-built or not. So I assume this bending is not usually performed in industry or by local mechanics, but rather only by more crafted wheelbuilders (or ones that read Sheldon Brown a lot).
May 21, 2015 at 22:59 comment added Sparhawk Interesting answer, but I'm curious about your dot points. Do you know for certain that machines do not bend the spokes, etc. during manufacture? For the second point, I also would have thought that there'd be human QA anyway, as @Glenn alludes to, but I don't know for sure either. Finally, I agree with the last point in theory, but it's more of an assertion rather than one that is derived from hard data.
Nov 15, 2012 at 8:27 vote accept user1049697
Nov 12, 2012 at 5:48 comment added Glenn Checked and re-trued manually*
Nov 11, 2012 at 23:39 comment added Glenn I agree with all of the above. In addition it should be know that "machine built" wheels are checked and re-trued in some factories anyways. I think as you noted a machine is unable to deal with unusual circumstances, and I think the number of cycles of re-truing and stressing spokes is a major player in the need for a human hand. I heartily agree with your comment about price reduction and quality.
Nov 11, 2012 at 18:41 history answered heltonbiker CC BY-SA 3.0