Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

3
  • 23
    $\begingroup$ This is almost exactly my personal experience flying into KPDX a couple dozen times. Approach control doesn't mind you, doesn't make you wait, but does expect you to be professional on the radio and fast on final. It was a good long trip for the sharp instrument students finishing up their ratings. $\endgroup$
    – egid
    Commented Jan 8, 2014 at 19:19
  • 6
    $\begingroup$ @egid One time I flew into PDX and they thought my call sign was "citation" not "cessna" LOL. But apart from that, they are very nice to deal with. I'm sure they get a lot of Hillsboro Aviation Academy traffic passing through. $\endgroup$
    – Keegan
    Commented Jan 6, 2015 at 22:26
  • 1
    $\begingroup$ Flew into KMDW on my IFR cross country. Not as bad as KORD would have been, but still very busy. Glad I did it then when I was on top of my game. That entire airspace is a demanding environment. Actually landing (and doing a last minute side step for jet coming in behind us) was uneventful (albeit flown much faster than one would normally do at a small airport) compared to getting to the airport. :-) $\endgroup$ Commented Nov 12, 2019 at 17:34