Skip to main content
Tweeted twitter.com/StackAviation/status/1070558603537539072
added 1 character in body; edited title
Source Link
FreeMan
  • 16.4k
  • 17
  • 87
  • 166

If When flying in uncontrolled airspace, which ATC frequency should I contact if I gothave an emergency?

Question 1: If I am flying in uncontrolled airspace and I gothave an emergency, should I report on 121.5MHz if no ATC is within line of sight communication (which means I cannot hear the ATC and the ATC cannot hear me)?

Question 2: Which frequency should I use to report the emergency in the following scenario? When the emergency happens, the aircraft is in uncontrolled airspace but near or approaching controlled airspace. There is an ATC station which is in charge of that airspace and the aircraft is within the line of sight of ATC (which means I may hear them), but my onboard radio coverage (the green circle indicated in the picture) cannot reach the ATC station (which means ATC cannot hear me). Should I report on the ATC frequency as maybe some aircraft are flying in the area and can relay the emergency to notify the ATC? Or should I just keep reporting on the common radio frequency like 121.5MHz?

enter image description here

If flying in uncontrolled airspace, which ATC frequency should I contact if I got an emergency?

Question 1: If I am flying in uncontrolled airspace and I got an emergency, should I report on 121.5MHz if no ATC is within line of sight communication (which means I cannot hear the ATC and the ATC cannot hear me)?

Question 2: Which frequency should I use to report the emergency in the following scenario? When the emergency happens, the aircraft is in uncontrolled airspace but near or approaching controlled airspace. There is an ATC station which is in charge of that airspace and the aircraft is within the line of sight of ATC (which means I may hear them), but my onboard radio coverage (the green circle indicated in the picture) cannot reach the ATC station (which means ATC cannot hear me). Should I report on the ATC frequency as maybe some aircraft are flying in the area and can relay the emergency to notify the ATC? Or should I just keep reporting on the common radio frequency like 121.5MHz?

enter image description here

When flying in uncontrolled airspace, which ATC frequency should I contact if I have an emergency?

Question 1: If I am flying in uncontrolled airspace and I have an emergency, should I report on 121.5MHz if no ATC is within line of sight communication (which means I cannot hear the ATC and the ATC cannot hear me)?

Question 2: Which frequency should I use to report the emergency in the following scenario? When the emergency happens, the aircraft is in uncontrolled airspace but near or approaching controlled airspace. There is an ATC station which is in charge of that airspace and the aircraft is within the line of sight of ATC (which means I may hear them), but my onboard radio coverage (the green circle indicated in the picture) cannot reach the ATC station (which means ATC cannot hear me). Should I report on the ATC frequency as maybe some aircraft are flying in the area and can relay the emergency to notify the ATC? Or should I just keep reporting on the common radio frequency like 121.5MHz?

enter image description here

deleted 22 characters in body; edited tags; edited title
Source Link
Pondlife
  • 71.8k
  • 22
  • 214
  • 412

If flying in an uncontrolled airspaecairspace, which ATC frequency should I contact if I got an emergency?

Question 1: If I am flying in an uncontrolled airspace and I got an emergency, should I report aton 121.5MHz if no ATC is within the line of sight communication  (which means I can notcannot hear the ATC and the ATC can notcannot hear me)?

Question 2: Which frequency should I use to report the emergency in the belowfollowing scenario: when? When the emergency happens, the aircraft is in the uncontrolled airspace, but I am near or approaching the controlled airspace and there. There is aan ATC station which is in charge of that airspace, and the aircraft is within the line of sight of the ATC  (which means I may hear the ATCthem), but my onboard radio coverage  (the green circle indicated in the picture) can notcannot reach the ATC station  (which means the ATC can notcannot hear me), should. Should I report aton the ATC frequency as maybe some aircrafts isaircraft are flying in the area and can replay merelay the emergency to notify the ATC or? Or should I just keep reporting on the common radio frequency like 121.Mhz5MHz?   

enter image description here

If flying in an uncontrolled airspaec, which ATC frequency should I contact if I got an emergency?

Question 1: If I am flying in an uncontrolled airspace and I got an emergency, should I report at 121.5MHz if no ATC is within the line of sight communication(which means I can not hear the ATC and the ATC can not hear me)?

Question 2: Which frequency should I use to report the emergency in the below scenario: when emergency happens, the aircraft is in the uncontrolled airspace, but I am near or approaching the controlled airspace and there is a ATC station which is in charge of that airspace, the aircraft is within the line of sight of the ATC(which means I may hear the ATC), but my onboard radio coverage(the green circle indicated in the picture) can not reach the ATC station(which means the ATC can not hear me), should I report at the ATC frequency as maybe some aircrafts is flying in the area and can replay me the emergency to notify the ATC or I just keep reporting on the common radio frequency like 121.Mhz?  enter image description here

If flying in uncontrolled airspace, which ATC frequency should I contact if I got an emergency?

Question 1: If I am flying in uncontrolled airspace and I got an emergency, should I report on 121.5MHz if no ATC is within line of sight communication  (which means I cannot hear the ATC and the ATC cannot hear me)?

Question 2: Which frequency should I use to report the emergency in the following scenario? When the emergency happens, the aircraft is in uncontrolled airspace but near or approaching controlled airspace. There is an ATC station which is in charge of that airspace and the aircraft is within the line of sight of ATC  (which means I may hear them), but my onboard radio coverage  (the green circle indicated in the picture) cannot reach the ATC station  (which means ATC cannot hear me). Should I report on the ATC frequency as maybe some aircraft are flying in the area and can relay the emergency to notify the ATC? Or should I just keep reporting on the common radio frequency like 121.5MHz? 

enter image description here

Source Link
VvV
  • 1.6k
  • 1
  • 10
  • 30

If flying in an uncontrolled airspaec, which ATC frequency should I contact if I got an emergency?

Question 1: If I am flying in an uncontrolled airspace and I got an emergency, should I report at 121.5MHz if no ATC is within the line of sight communication(which means I can not hear the ATC and the ATC can not hear me)?

Question 2: Which frequency should I use to report the emergency in the below scenario: when emergency happens, the aircraft is in the uncontrolled airspace, but I am near or approaching the controlled airspace and there is a ATC station which is in charge of that airspace, the aircraft is within the line of sight of the ATC(which means I may hear the ATC), but my onboard radio coverage(the green circle indicated in the picture) can not reach the ATC station(which means the ATC can not hear me), should I report at the ATC frequency as maybe some aircrafts is flying in the area and can replay me the emergency to notify the ATC or I just keep reporting on the common radio frequency like 121.Mhz? enter image description here