Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

5
  • 17
    $\begingroup$ "Scan the sky in roughly 10 degree segments making 18 different, concentrated "fields of view"" I want to fly as a passenger on an airplane that has 180° field of view! Usually only a pilot gets such a wonderful picture of the sky, at least in the air. $\endgroup$
    – Ron Beyer
    Commented Jun 22, 2016 at 15:07
  • $\begingroup$ I was taught 10-degree segments during my flight training. And from the cockpit, I can probably see a bit more than 180 degrees; As a commercial passenger, you will see a lot less admittedly. $\endgroup$
    – abelenky
    Commented Jun 22, 2016 at 15:18
  • 7
    $\begingroup$ I think I have seen another airplane on just about every flight I've ever taken. $\endgroup$
    – BillDOe
    Commented Jun 22, 2016 at 18:10
  • 2
    $\begingroup$ I think "you're not looking" may be a bit harsh. Your 3rd paragraph perfectly addresses why - "I think spotting them may take some practice". $\endgroup$
    – FreeMan
    Commented Jun 23, 2016 at 12:21
  • 2
    $\begingroup$ It's also easier to see other planes at night, with the navigation lights. $\endgroup$ Commented Jun 23, 2016 at 17:51