Skip to main content
deleted 1 character in body
Source Link
Jae Carr
  • 24.2k
  • 13
  • 23

I want to remind everyone that we aren't actually required to be strict about the rules if, as a community, we don't want to be. There are many communities on SE that are very lax with the rules, simply because it's what fits their format the best.

Personally, over the three yeas I've been here, I've noticed that every now and again, this community likes to cut lose, and a silly post is allowed to stay. Thus I would contend we are, within reason, allowed to have a little fun here and there.

Remember, the strict rules we see around Stack Exchange were mostly developed for Stack Overflow. On that site, it's entirely warranted. The community is huge, and the topic is (for most folks who use it) work related. People are required to stay serious because that is the nature of that site.

Further, I would point out that (as of this writing) the question has not gotten a single close vote. So it seems pretty clear that the community (so far) is okay with this particular piece of fun. I like to think our community is pretty good at self regulation in that regard and that if things like this happened repeatedly, we'd see votes to close...

But on this occasion, I, and I believe the community, think being silly on this one is just fine ;).

I want to remind everyone that we aren't actually required to be strict about the rules if, as a community, we don't want to be. There are many communities on SE that are very lax with the rules, simply because it's what fits their format the best.

Personally, over the three yeas I've been here, I've noticed that every now and again, this community likes to cut lose, and a silly post is allowed to stay. Thus I would contend we are, within reason, allowed to have a little fun here and there.

Remember, the strict rules we see around Stack Exchange were mostly developed for Stack Overflow. On that site, it's entirely warranted. The community is huge, and the topic is (for most folks who use it) work related. People are required to stay serious because that is the nature of that site.

Further, I would point out that (as of this writing) the question has not gotten a single close vote. So it seems pretty clear that the community (so far) is okay with this particular piece of fun. I like to think our community is pretty good at self regulation in that regard and that if things like this happened repeatedly, we'd see votes to close...

But on this occasion, I, and I believe the community, think being silly on this one is just fine ;).

I want to remind everyone that we aren't actually required to be strict about the rules if, as a community, we don't want to be. There are many communities on SE that are very lax with the rules, simply because it's what fits their format the best.

Personally, over the three yeas I've been here, I've noticed that every now and again this community likes to cut lose, and a silly post is allowed to stay. Thus I would contend we are, within reason, allowed to have a little fun here and there.

Remember, the strict rules we see around Stack Exchange were mostly developed for Stack Overflow. On that site, it's entirely warranted. The community is huge, and the topic is (for most folks who use it) work related. People are required to stay serious because that is the nature of that site.

Further, I would point out that (as of this writing) the question has not gotten a single close vote. So it seems pretty clear that the community (so far) is okay with this particular piece of fun. I like to think our community is pretty good at self regulation in that regard and that if things like this happened repeatedly, we'd see votes to close...

But on this occasion, I, and I believe the community, think being silly on this one is just fine ;).

added 9 characters in body
Source Link
Jae Carr
  • 24.2k
  • 13
  • 23

I want to remind everyone that we aren't actually required to be strict about the rules if, as a community, we don't want to be. There are many communities on SE that are very lax with the rules, simply because it's what fits their format the best.

Personally, over the three yeas I've been here, I've noticed that every now and again, this community likes to cut lose, and a silly post is allowed to stay. Thus I would contend we are, within reason, allowed to have a little fun here and there.

Remember, the strict rules we see around Stack Exchange were mostly developed for Stack Overflow. On that site, it's entirely warranted. The community is huge, and the topic is (for most folks who use it) work related. People are required to stay serious because that is the nature of that site.

Further, I would point out that (as of this writing) the question has not gotten a single close vote. So it seems pretty clear that the community (so far) is okay with this particular piece of fun. I like to think our community is pretty good at self regulation in that regard and that if things like this happened repeatedly, we'd see votes to close...

But on this occasion, I, and I believe the community, think being silly on this one is just fine ;).

I want to remind everyone that we aren't actually required to be strict about the rules if, as a community, we don't want to be. There are many communities on SE that are very lax with the rules, simply because it's what fits their format the best.

Personally, over the three yeas I've been here, I've noticed that every now and again, this community likes to cut lose, and a silly post is allowed to stay. Thus I would contend we are, within reason, allowed to have a little fun here and there.

Remember, the strict rules we see around Stack Exchange were mostly developed for Stack Overflow. On that site, it's entirely warranted. The community is huge, and the topic is (for most folks who use it) work related. People are required to stay serious because that is the nature of that site.

Further, I would point out that (as of this writing) the question has not gotten a single close vote. So it seems pretty clear that the community (so far) is okay with this particular piece of fun. I like to think our community is pretty good at self regulation in that regard and that if things like this happened repeatedly, we'd see votes to close...

But on this occasion, I, and I believe the community, think being silly on is just fine ;).

I want to remind everyone that we aren't actually required to be strict about the rules if, as a community, we don't want to be. There are many communities on SE that are very lax with the rules, simply because it's what fits their format the best.

Personally, over the three yeas I've been here, I've noticed that every now and again, this community likes to cut lose, and a silly post is allowed to stay. Thus I would contend we are, within reason, allowed to have a little fun here and there.

Remember, the strict rules we see around Stack Exchange were mostly developed for Stack Overflow. On that site, it's entirely warranted. The community is huge, and the topic is (for most folks who use it) work related. People are required to stay serious because that is the nature of that site.

Further, I would point out that (as of this writing) the question has not gotten a single close vote. So it seems pretty clear that the community (so far) is okay with this particular piece of fun. I like to think our community is pretty good at self regulation in that regard and that if things like this happened repeatedly, we'd see votes to close...

But on this occasion, I, and I believe the community, think being silly on this one is just fine ;).

added 3 characters in body
Source Link
Jae Carr
  • 24.2k
  • 13
  • 23

I want to remind everyone, again, that we aren't actually required to be super strict about the rules if, as a community, we don't want to be. There are many communities on SE that are very lax with the rules, simply because it's what fits their format the best.

Personally, over the three yeas I've been here, I've noticed that every now and again, this community likes to cut lose, and a silly post is allowed to stay. Thus I would contend we are, within reason, allowed to have a little fun here and there.

Remember, the strict rules we see around Stack Exchange were mostly developed for Stack Overflow. On that site, it's entirely warranted. The community is huge, and the topic is (for most folks who use it) work related. People are required to stay serious because that is the nature of that site.

Further, I would point out that (as of this writing) the question has not gotten a single close vote. So it seems pretty clear that the community (so far) is okay with this particular piece of fun. I like to think our community is pretty good at self regulation in that regard and that if things like this happened repeatedly, we'd see votes to close...

But on this occasion, I, and I believe the community, think being silly on is just fine ;).

I want to remind everyone, again, that we aren't actually required to be super strict about the rules if we don't want to be. There are many communities on SE that are very lax with the rules, simply because it's what fits their format the best.

Personally, over the three yeas I've been here, I've noticed that every now and again, this community likes to cut lose, and a silly post is allowed to stay. Thus I would contend we are, within reason, allowed to have a little fun here and there.

Remember, the strict rules we see around Stack Exchange were mostly developed for Stack Overflow. On that site, it's entirely warranted. The community is huge, and the topic is (for most folks who use it) work related. People are required to stay serious because that is the nature of that site.

Further, I would point out that (as of this writing) the question has not gotten a single close vote. So it seems pretty clear that the community (so far) is okay with this particular piece of fun. I like to think our community is pretty good at self regulation in that regard and that if things like this happened repeatedly, we'd see votes to close...

But on this occasion, I, and I believe the community, think being silly on is just fine ;).

I want to remind everyone that we aren't actually required to be strict about the rules if, as a community, we don't want to be. There are many communities on SE that are very lax with the rules, simply because it's what fits their format the best.

Personally, over the three yeas I've been here, I've noticed that every now and again, this community likes to cut lose, and a silly post is allowed to stay. Thus I would contend we are, within reason, allowed to have a little fun here and there.

Remember, the strict rules we see around Stack Exchange were mostly developed for Stack Overflow. On that site, it's entirely warranted. The community is huge, and the topic is (for most folks who use it) work related. People are required to stay serious because that is the nature of that site.

Further, I would point out that (as of this writing) the question has not gotten a single close vote. So it seems pretty clear that the community (so far) is okay with this particular piece of fun. I like to think our community is pretty good at self regulation in that regard and that if things like this happened repeatedly, we'd see votes to close...

But on this occasion, I, and I believe the community, think being silly on is just fine ;).

Source Link
Jae Carr
  • 24.2k
  • 13
  • 23
Loading