Blog

Meet Alicia Blázquez

We recently welcomed Alicia to our Automattic Design team. Enjoy this short interview with her.

Alicia Blázquez

What do you like best about being a designer?

Alicia: Since I’m a designer and since I’ve been interested in the design field, I’ve developed different layers to look at and experience the world. I’m more sensitive to the environment and more curious about things that interest me deeply. Working in different disciplines and subjects gives me something new to learn from every day, so this constant feeling of growth and development makes me feel alive and in constant awe and joy. I love how it forces me to be a better human to impact the world positively.

What’s aN aspect of design that you are really into?

Alicia: I always try to be updated on what is happening, how design is evolving, and how trends impact how we behave with brands. I’m not really interested in specific trends, perhaps I’m more interested in understanding why those trends are key at this moment. Trends have a lifecycle, they go and they come, and suddenly you can transform something into a trend. I can tell that I’m always fascinated by meaningful details that last, a strong concept that is honestly applied to all the environments involved. I believe that “less – but more meaningful – is more”.

What’s something you’ve learned about yourself recently that has really helped you?

Alicia: I’ve always been very demanding of myself, but I feel that sometimes I lose the joy and spontaneity of trying to look for perfection. I’m learning to trust the process and embrace the chaos, looking for balance without losing ambition.

Who is Alicia?

Alicia is a Creative Designer on the Design Core team. She’s passionate about all disciplines related to art and design, as well as enjoying all cultural aspects and traveling as much as she can. She loves taking photos and has a strong interest in how light can completely change the perception of a space/object. She also loves cycling and sports in general as a way to connect with herself. Connect with Alicia on LinkedIn.

Like what you see? Then maybe you’d love working here. We’re looking for great designers to help us meet bold growth and quality goals. We’re a fully distributed company with a huge footprint, helping people express themselves and earn a living—and our mission is more vital than ever. Join our team of diverse, global perspectives building a better web, and connect your career to the power of Open Source.

By Monika Burman

Trying to catch the deluge in a paper cup.