Skip to main content
Tweeted twitter.com/StackAstronomy/status/1136105563262205952
emoji makes it hard to understand the answer with screan readers, and is unprofessional
Source Link

I understand this is a silly hypothetical but I'm asking for a 7 year old so please 🐻bear with me.

Imagine an interstellar stray gas giant comes flying through our solar system.

If we were not concerned that it would also steal our atmosphere and create tidal forces that destroyed everything... How close would it need to come to us to exert enough gravity to lift people off the ground and pull them into its own orbit?

I understand this is a silly hypothetical but I'm asking for a 7 year old so please 🐻 with me.

Imagine an interstellar stray gas giant comes flying through our solar system.

If we were not concerned that it would also steal our atmosphere and create tidal forces that destroyed everything... How close would it need to come to us to exert enough gravity to lift people off the ground and pull them into its own orbit?

I understand this is a silly hypothetical but I'm asking for a 7 year old so please bear with me.

Imagine an interstellar stray gas giant comes flying through our solar system.

If we were not concerned that it would also steal our atmosphere and create tidal forces that destroyed everything... How close would it need to come to us to exert enough gravity to lift people off the ground and pull them into its own orbit?

Became Hot Network Question
Source Link

If a massive object like Jupiter flew past the Earth how close would it need to come to pull people off of the surface?

I understand this is a silly hypothetical but I'm asking for a 7 year old so please 🐻 with me.

Imagine an interstellar stray gas giant comes flying through our solar system.

If we were not concerned that it would also steal our atmosphere and create tidal forces that destroyed everything... How close would it need to come to us to exert enough gravity to lift people off the ground and pull them into its own orbit?