Skip to main content
8 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jul 16, 2019 at 5:03 comment added zibadawa timmy The exam satistics at the start of those lecture notes is almost more interesting to me. It basically seems to say "three people didn't take the test, one person got a zero on both the test and the practice test, and scores on the exam were almost directly correlated to the binary 'did you take the practice exam?'." That last bit is kind of weird.
Apr 26, 2019 at 10:38 comment added Steve Linton Thinking about this. I came up with an alternative interesting way of thinking about it 1 -- just as an electron, in vacuum is surrounded by a cloud of virtual photons and electrons (newscientist.com/article/…) a BH is shielded by a cloud of virttual particles which make its mass seem a little smaller to a distant observer. Occassioanlly some of this shield is consumed by the event horizon, making its mass actually smaller, and resulting in emission of a particle. Disclaimer, I am not an expert and this is just a story.
Apr 26, 2019 at 9:21 comment added user27815 I don't mind, but if people keep copy-pasting different bits of the lecture, soon we will have the whole thing on here. :) I would encourage interested people to go read the lecture notes, they're really interesting.
Apr 25, 2019 at 23:11 comment added Florin Andrei This is a complex phenomenon. I think the question would benefit from having a diversity of answers.
Apr 25, 2019 at 22:46 comment added Steve Linton @jakub_d. Oops sorry. Would you like me to delete mine?
Apr 25, 2019 at 21:53 comment added user27815 I like the explanation in this lecture as well. Which is why I linked it in my answer hours ago...
Apr 25, 2019 at 21:46 comment added Florin Andrei This is great !
Apr 25, 2019 at 21:04 history answered Steve Linton CC BY-SA 4.0