Skip to main content
The title was implying that the asker actually saw Pluto, which is misleading to people who read the title.
Source Link

In my mid-forties, I believe Did I have seensee Pluto for the first time with themy naked eye?

Early this morning going out on the balcony, I looked up on a star chart app to verify it was Jupiter I was seeing. ThenThen I noticed the alignment of Mars, Saturn, and Pluto on the app.

Never being able to identify it before, I stared at where Pluto should be and I'm pretty sure I saw it.

My only question is - since it's said that planets shine and stars twinkle, it did seem that Pluto was flicking a bit. IsIs this normal? Something to do with the relatively low luminosity and greater length of space?

In my mid-forties, I believe I have seen Pluto for the first time with the naked eye

Early this morning going out on the balcony, I looked up on a star chart app to verify it was Jupiter I was seeing. Then I noticed the alignment of Mars, Saturn, and Pluto on the app.

Never being able to identify it before, I stared at where Pluto should be and I'm pretty sure I saw it.

My only question is - since it's said that planets shine and stars twinkle, it did seem that Pluto was flicking a bit. Is this normal? Something to do with the relatively low luminosity and greater length of space?

Did I see Pluto with my naked eye?

Early this morning going out on the balcony, I looked up on a star chart app to verify it was Jupiter I was seeing. Then I noticed the alignment of Mars, Saturn, and Pluto on the app.

Never being able to identify it before, I stared at where Pluto should be and I'm pretty sure I saw it.

My only question is - since it's said that planets shine and stars twinkle, it did seem that Pluto was flicking a bit. Is this normal? Something to do with the relatively low luminosity and greater length of space?

Tweeted twitter.com/StackAstronomy/status/974418810248757248
Source Link

In my mid-forties, I believe I have seen Pluto for the first time with the naked eye

Early this morning going out on the balcony, I looked up on a star chart app to verify it was Jupiter I was seeing. Then I noticed the alignment of Mars, Saturn, and Pluto on the app.

Never being able to identify it before, I stared at where Pluto should be and I'm pretty sure I saw it.

My only question is - since it's said that planets shine and stars twinkle, it did seem that Pluto was flicking a bit. Is this normal? Something to do with the relatively low luminosity and greater length of space?