Skip to main content

Recently I boarded a flight and noticed Outsideoutside air temperature as -53°C at an altitude of 36860ft  (11.23km). I don't know what causes such a freezing temperature in that altitude but was wondering higher altitudes  (space  ) may have even freezing temperatures.Here Here I got a doubt i.e what happens if an ice cube is left in space? Would it be melting or stay as it is?

Recently I boarded a flight and noticed Outside air temperature as -53°C at an altitude of 36860ft(11.23km). I don't know what causes such a freezing temperature in that altitude but was wondering higher altitudes(space  ) may have even freezing temperatures.Here I got a doubt i.e what happens if an ice cube is left in space? Would it be melting or stay as it is?

Recently I boarded a flight and noticed outside air temperature as -53°C at an altitude of 36860ft  (11.23km). I don't know what causes such a freezing temperature in that altitude but was wondering higher altitudes  (space) may have even freezing temperatures. Here I got a doubt i.e what happens if an ice cube is left in space? Would it be melting or stay as it is?

Tweeted twitter.com/#!/StackAstronomy/status/463213123567357952
Source Link

What would happen if an ice cube is left in space?

Recently I boarded a flight and noticed Outside air temperature as -53°C at an altitude of 36860ft(11.23km). I don't know what causes such a freezing temperature in that altitude but was wondering higher altitudes(space ) may have even freezing temperatures.Here I got a doubt i.e what happens if an ice cube is left in space? Would it be melting or stay as it is?