Skip to main content
4 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jan 23, 2016 at 18:28 history edited HDE 226868 CC BY-SA 3.0
added 735 characters in body
Jan 23, 2016 at 18:25 comment added HDE 226868 @RobJeffries I completely forgot to consider that it's a gas giant. I'll make a note of that. My rationale ruling out the planets on the basis of age was more the supposition that early conditions would not have been conducive to anything but extremophilic life. While the Earth clearly isn't necessarily indicative of an average planet, many terrestrial planets would have gone through inhospitable conditions like those in the Hadean eon. That would leave maybe 500 million years for life to start - and while I hadn't considered that radiation could have helped life, I assumed it would have hurt.
Jan 23, 2016 at 18:19 comment added ProfRob Slight snag with the first system you consider (and which I didn't) - it's a gas giant. I'm deleting my answer since I hadn't appreciated that these were millisecond pulsars. However, I don't think you can rule something out on the basis that it is a billion years old. Who knows, the pulsar radiation could accelerate mutation rates and evolution.
Jan 23, 2016 at 16:56 history answered HDE 226868 CC BY-SA 3.0