Skip to main content
11 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Apr 29, 2023 at 2:38 comment added mpboden @UbuntuUser I've been doing a lot of research about your situation and added another answer. I also wanted to let you know I found some info here where someone said that they couldn't get UseDNS=false to work in conjuction with a symlink from /etc/resolv.conf to /run/resolvconf/resolv.conf. This was from 2019, and I haven't seen anything as to whether it was ever resolved or not. Perhaps this is why it wasn't working for you.
Apr 29, 2023 at 2:34 history edited mpboden CC BY-SA 4.0
Indicate that this isn't my preferred answer
Apr 20, 2023 at 7:19 comment added UbuntuUser Yes, I am saying that when I add those lines to /etc/netplan/00-installer-config.yaml it doesn't work at all. Unfortunately I didn't set up the VPN tunnel so I can't turn it off but it would not surprise me if your instructions work when there is no VPN in the mix. Everything you wrote makes perfect sense and I appreciate the effort that you put into that answer and hope it helps others who may have a similar issue, just without the VPN. I did find a way that appears to work and posted that as another answer but I am not 100% confident in it, but it does seem to work, any thoughts?
Apr 20, 2023 at 6:41 history edited mpboden CC BY-SA 4.0
update dig command to use tls for final test
Apr 20, 2023 at 5:54 comment added mpboden @UbuntuUser That was a typo on my part regarding dhcp4-overrides. My answer has been updated. Now then, you're saying that after all this, DNS doesn't work at all? It works on my end. The only difference is that I don't have a VPN setup. Are you willing to try it first without starting the VPN? That'll at least rule that out.
Apr 20, 2023 at 5:36 history edited mpboden CC BY-SA 4.0
fixed typo mistake
Apr 20, 2023 at 5:24 comment added UbuntuUser This answer looks like it should be correct but the problem is this: When I change /etc/netplan/00-installer-config.yaml as shown it fails, first because it has to be dhcp4-overrides not dhcp-overrides, but the big problem is once I complete that step DNS doesn't work at all. Even after I change everything back to the way it was DNS will not work until I reboot. Restarting Netplan and systemd-resolved won't even do it, it has to be a full reboot. Everything else prior to that step appears to work, but not that for some reason.
Apr 20, 2023 at 2:50 history undeleted mpboden
Apr 20, 2023 at 2:50 history edited mpboden CC BY-SA 4.0
added 2789 characters in body
Apr 20, 2023 at 1:52 history deleted mpboden via Vote
Apr 20, 2023 at 1:52 history answered mpboden CC BY-SA 4.0