Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

4
  • This answer looks like it should be correct but the problem is this: When I change /etc/netplan/00-installer-config.yaml as shown it fails, first because it has to be dhcp4-overrides not dhcp-overrides, but the big problem is once I complete that step DNS doesn't work at all. Even after I change everything back to the way it was DNS will not work until I reboot. Restarting Netplan and systemd-resolved won't even do it, it has to be a full reboot. Everything else prior to that step appears to work, but not that for some reason.
    – UbuntuUser
    Commented Apr 20, 2023 at 5:24
  • @UbuntuUser That was a typo on my part regarding dhcp4-overrides. My answer has been updated. Now then, you're saying that after all this, DNS doesn't work at all? It works on my end. The only difference is that I don't have a VPN setup. Are you willing to try it first without starting the VPN? That'll at least rule that out.
    – mpboden
    Commented Apr 20, 2023 at 5:54
  • Yes, I am saying that when I add those lines to /etc/netplan/00-installer-config.yaml it doesn't work at all. Unfortunately I didn't set up the VPN tunnel so I can't turn it off but it would not surprise me if your instructions work when there is no VPN in the mix. Everything you wrote makes perfect sense and I appreciate the effort that you put into that answer and hope it helps others who may have a similar issue, just without the VPN. I did find a way that appears to work and posted that as another answer but I am not 100% confident in it, but it does seem to work, any thoughts?
    – UbuntuUser
    Commented Apr 20, 2023 at 7:19
  • @UbuntuUser I've been doing a lot of research about your situation and added another answer. I also wanted to let you know I found some info here where someone said that they couldn't get UseDNS=false to work in conjuction with a symlink from /etc/resolv.conf to /run/resolvconf/resolv.conf. This was from 2019, and I haven't seen anything as to whether it was ever resolved or not. Perhaps this is why it wasn't working for you.
    – mpboden
    Commented Apr 29, 2023 at 2:38