Skip to main content
inlined screenshot
Source Link
karel
  • 116.9k
  • 116
  • 283
  • 315

Today, I decided to upgrade from WSL 1 to WSL 2. On WSL 1, I had no issues getting both Kali orLinux or Ubuntu to function on WSL 1. When upgrading to WSL 2, both Kali and Ubuntu failed to upgrade to version 2. I read that uninstalling and reinstalling them could fix this issue. However, upon reinstalling both of them, my system now fails to detect any installed distro, despite the distro's being installed. Launching both Kali or Ubuntu gives the same error: Error 0x80370102 Screenshot.

Installing, this may take a few minutes...
WslRegisterDistribution failed with error: 0x80370102
Error: 0x80370102 The virtual machine could not be started because a required feature is not installed.

When researching this error, and from reading the official WSL 2 install guide from Microsoft, the error always seems to be because the system doesn't have virtualization enabled in the BIOS. This is really confusing as I have checked over 4 different times if I missed any virtualization setting in my BIOS, and have verified it is all enabled. I also have confirmed I have the NX feature enabled as well. Even HWiNFO detects I have virtualization enabled:   

Screenshot of HWiNFO's resultsScreenshot of HWiNFO's results

I have also made sure that the Virtual Machine PlatformVirtual Machine Platform, Windows Subsystem for LinuxWindows Subsystem for Linux and the Windows Hypervisor PlatformWindows Hypervisor Platform features are all enabled. Not only this, but I can also create and run any number of VMs from VirtualBox without any errors or issues whatsoever.

Other troubleshooting steps I have gone through was resetting the WSL service, reset my machine (multiple times), update the WSL kernel, verify my Win version is in 19041 or above, and waited 20 minutes after boot to see if I was just being impatient.

Here is someSystem information about my system:

  • Running Windows 10 verversion 10.0.19041.388 (also known as SDK version 2004)
  • Ryzen 3900x CPU
  • 32GB DDR4 RAM
  • Asus Tuf Gaming X570-Plus Motherboardmotherboard w/ BIOS verversion 1407

Today, I decided to upgrade from WSL 1 to WSL 2. On WSL 1, I had no issues getting both Kali or Ubuntu to function on WSL 1. When upgrading to WSL 2, both Kali and Ubuntu failed to upgrade to version 2. I read that uninstalling and reinstalling them could fix this issue. However, upon reinstalling both of them, my system now fails to detect any installed distro, despite the distro's being installed. Launching both Kali or Ubuntu gives the same error: Error 0x80370102 Screenshot

Installing, this may take a few minutes...
WslRegisterDistribution failed with error: 0x80370102
Error: 0x80370102 The virtual machine could not be started because a required feature is not installed.

When researching this error, and from reading the official WSL 2 install guide from Microsoft, the error always seems to be because the system doesn't have virtualization enabled in the BIOS. This is really confusing as I have checked over 4 different times if I missed any virtualization setting in my BIOS, and have verified it is all enabled. I also have confirmed I have the NX feature enabled as well. Even HWiNFO detects I have virtualization enabled:  Screenshot of HWiNFO's results

I have also made sure that the Virtual Machine Platform, Windows Subsystem for Linux and the Windows Hypervisor Platform features are all enabled. Not only this, but I can also create and run any number of VMs from VirtualBox without any errors or issues whatsoever.

Other troubleshooting steps I have gone through was resetting the WSL service, reset my machine (multiple times), update the WSL kernel, verify my Win version is in 19041 or above, and waited 20 minutes after boot to see if I was just being impatient.

Here is some information about my system:

  • Running Windows 10 ver 10.0.19041.388 (also known as SDK version 2004)
  • Ryzen 3900x CPU
  • 32GB DDR4 RAM
  • Asus Tuf Gaming X570-Plus Motherboard w/ BIOS ver 1407

Today, I decided to upgrade from WSL 1 to WSL 2. On WSL 1, I had no issues getting both Kali Linux or Ubuntu to function on WSL 1. When upgrading to WSL 2, both Kali and Ubuntu failed to upgrade to version 2. I read that uninstalling and reinstalling them could fix this issue. However, upon reinstalling both of them, my system now fails to detect any installed distro, despite the distro's being installed. Launching both Kali or Ubuntu gives the same error.

Installing, this may take a few minutes...
WslRegisterDistribution failed with error: 0x80370102
Error: 0x80370102 The virtual machine could not be started because a required feature is not installed.

When researching this error, and from reading the official WSL 2 install guide from Microsoft, the error always seems to be because the system doesn't have virtualization enabled in the BIOS. This is really confusing as I have checked over 4 different times if I missed any virtualization setting in my BIOS, and have verified it is all enabled. I also have confirmed I have the NX feature enabled as well. Even HWiNFO detects I have virtualization enabled: 

Screenshot of HWiNFO's results

I have also made sure that the Virtual Machine Platform, Windows Subsystem for Linux and the Windows Hypervisor Platform features are all enabled. Not only this, but I can also create and run any number of VMs from VirtualBox without any errors or issues whatsoever.

Other troubleshooting steps I have gone through was resetting the WSL service, reset my machine (multiple times), update the WSL kernel, verify my Win version is in 19041 or above, and waited 20 minutes after boot to see if I was just being impatient.

System information:

  • Running Windows 10 version 10.0.19041.388 (also known as SDK version 2004)
  • Ryzen 3900x CPU
  • 32GB DDR4 RAM
  • Asus Tuf Gaming X570-Plus motherboard w/ BIOS version 1407
Question Protected by CommunityBot
Tweeted twitter.com/AskUbuntu/status/1338181938348249091
added 33 characters in body
Source Link
karel
  • 116.9k
  • 116
  • 283
  • 315

Today, I decided to upgrade from WSL 1 to WSL 2. On WSL 1, I had no issues getting both Kali or Ubuntu to function on WSL 1. When upgrading to WSL 2, both Kali and Ubuntu failed to upgrade to version 2. I read that uninstalling and reinstalling them could fix this issue. However, upon reinstalling both of them, my system now fails to detect any installed distro, despite the distro's being installed. Launching both Kali or Ubuntu gives the same error: Error 0x80370102 Screenshot

Installing, this may take a few minutes...
WslRegisterDistribution failed with error: 0x80370102
Error: 0x80370102 The virtual machine could not be started because a required feature is not installed.

When researching this error, and from reading the official WSL 2 install guide from Microsoft, the error always seems to be because the system doesn't have virtualization enabled in the BIOS. This is really confusing as I have checked over 4 different times if I missed any virtualization setting in my BIOS, and have verified it is all enabled. I also have confirmed I have the NX feature enabled as well. Even HWiNFO detects I have virtualization enabled: Screenshot of HWiNFO's results

I have also made sure that the Virtual Machine Platform, Windows Subsystem for Linux and the Windows Hypervisor Platform features are all enabled. Not only this, but I can also create and run any number of VMs from VirtualBox without any errors or issues whatsoever.

Other troubleshooting steps I have gone through was resetting the WSL service, reset my machine (multiple times), update the WSL kernel, verify my Win version is in 19041 or above, and waited 20 minutes after boot to see if I was just being impatient.

Here is some information about my system:

  • Running Windows 10 ver 10.0.19041.388 (also known as SDK version 2004)
  • Ryzen 3900x CPU
  • 32GB DDR4 RAM
  • Asus Tuf Gaming X570-Plus Motherboard w/ BIOS ver 1407

Today, I decided to upgrade from WSL 1 to WSL 2. On WSL 1, I had no issues getting both Kali or Ubuntu to function on WSL 1. When upgrading to WSL 2, both Kali and Ubuntu failed to upgrade to version 2. I read that uninstalling and reinstalling them could fix this issue. However, upon reinstalling both of them, my system now fails to detect any installed distro, despite the distro's being installed. Launching both Kali or Ubuntu gives the same error: Error 0x80370102 Screenshot

Installing, this may take a few minutes...
WslRegisterDistribution failed with error: 0x80370102
Error: 0x80370102 The virtual machine could not be started because a required feature is not installed.

When researching this error, and from reading the official WSL 2 install guide from Microsoft, the error always seems to be because the system doesn't have virtualization enabled in the BIOS. This is really confusing as I have checked over 4 different times if I missed any virtualization setting in my BIOS, and have verified it is all enabled. I also have confirmed I have the NX feature enabled as well. Even HWiNFO detects I have virtualization enabled: Screenshot of HWiNFO's results

I have also made sure that the Virtual Machine Platform, Windows Subsystem for Linux and the Windows Hypervisor Platform features are all enabled. Not only this, but I can also create and run any number of VMs from VirtualBox without any errors or issues whatsoever.

Other troubleshooting steps I have gone through was resetting the WSL service, reset my machine (multiple times), update the WSL kernel, verify my Win version is in 19041 or above, and waited 20 minutes after boot to see if I was just being impatient.

Here is some information about my system:

  • Running Windows 10 ver 10.0.19041.388
  • Ryzen 3900x CPU
  • 32GB DDR4 RAM
  • Asus Tuf Gaming X570-Plus Motherboard w/ BIOS ver 1407

Today, I decided to upgrade from WSL 1 to WSL 2. On WSL 1, I had no issues getting both Kali or Ubuntu to function on WSL 1. When upgrading to WSL 2, both Kali and Ubuntu failed to upgrade to version 2. I read that uninstalling and reinstalling them could fix this issue. However, upon reinstalling both of them, my system now fails to detect any installed distro, despite the distro's being installed. Launching both Kali or Ubuntu gives the same error: Error 0x80370102 Screenshot

Installing, this may take a few minutes...
WslRegisterDistribution failed with error: 0x80370102
Error: 0x80370102 The virtual machine could not be started because a required feature is not installed.

When researching this error, and from reading the official WSL 2 install guide from Microsoft, the error always seems to be because the system doesn't have virtualization enabled in the BIOS. This is really confusing as I have checked over 4 different times if I missed any virtualization setting in my BIOS, and have verified it is all enabled. I also have confirmed I have the NX feature enabled as well. Even HWiNFO detects I have virtualization enabled: Screenshot of HWiNFO's results

I have also made sure that the Virtual Machine Platform, Windows Subsystem for Linux and the Windows Hypervisor Platform features are all enabled. Not only this, but I can also create and run any number of VMs from VirtualBox without any errors or issues whatsoever.

Other troubleshooting steps I have gone through was resetting the WSL service, reset my machine (multiple times), update the WSL kernel, verify my Win version is in 19041 or above, and waited 20 minutes after boot to see if I was just being impatient.

Here is some information about my system:

  • Running Windows 10 ver 10.0.19041.388 (also known as SDK version 2004)
  • Ryzen 3900x CPU
  • 32GB DDR4 RAM
  • Asus Tuf Gaming X570-Plus Motherboard w/ BIOS ver 1407
Source Link
Blu
  • 671
  • 1
  • 5
  • 3

WSL 2 Won't Run Ubuntu - Error 0x80370102

Today, I decided to upgrade from WSL 1 to WSL 2. On WSL 1, I had no issues getting both Kali or Ubuntu to function on WSL 1. When upgrading to WSL 2, both Kali and Ubuntu failed to upgrade to version 2. I read that uninstalling and reinstalling them could fix this issue. However, upon reinstalling both of them, my system now fails to detect any installed distro, despite the distro's being installed. Launching both Kali or Ubuntu gives the same error: Error 0x80370102 Screenshot

Installing, this may take a few minutes...
WslRegisterDistribution failed with error: 0x80370102
Error: 0x80370102 The virtual machine could not be started because a required feature is not installed.

When researching this error, and from reading the official WSL 2 install guide from Microsoft, the error always seems to be because the system doesn't have virtualization enabled in the BIOS. This is really confusing as I have checked over 4 different times if I missed any virtualization setting in my BIOS, and have verified it is all enabled. I also have confirmed I have the NX feature enabled as well. Even HWiNFO detects I have virtualization enabled: Screenshot of HWiNFO's results

I have also made sure that the Virtual Machine Platform, Windows Subsystem for Linux and the Windows Hypervisor Platform features are all enabled. Not only this, but I can also create and run any number of VMs from VirtualBox without any errors or issues whatsoever.

Other troubleshooting steps I have gone through was resetting the WSL service, reset my machine (multiple times), update the WSL kernel, verify my Win version is in 19041 or above, and waited 20 minutes after boot to see if I was just being impatient.

Here is some information about my system:

  • Running Windows 10 ver 10.0.19041.388
  • Ryzen 3900x CPU
  • 32GB DDR4 RAM
  • Asus Tuf Gaming X570-Plus Motherboard w/ BIOS ver 1407