Skip to main content
replaced http://apple.stackexchange.com/ with https://apple.stackexchange.com/
Source Link

I answered a similar question heresimilar question here a while back. My answer is copied below.


I use cp -Rfv sourcefile destinationfile with success on a pretty regular basis.

cp = copy

R = maintains file hierarchies

f = if an existing destination file cannot be opened, remove it and try again

v = verbose mode, displays files transferred as it progresses

sourcefile = data you want to copy

destinationfile = directory/drive you want to copy to

I answered a similar question here a while back. My answer is copied below.


I use cp -Rfv sourcefile destinationfile with success on a pretty regular basis.

cp = copy

R = maintains file hierarchies

f = if an existing destination file cannot be opened, remove it and try again

v = verbose mode, displays files transferred as it progresses

sourcefile = data you want to copy

destinationfile = directory/drive you want to copy to

I answered a similar question here a while back. My answer is copied below.


I use cp -Rfv sourcefile destinationfile with success on a pretty regular basis.

cp = copy

R = maintains file hierarchies

f = if an existing destination file cannot be opened, remove it and try again

v = verbose mode, displays files transferred as it progresses

sourcefile = data you want to copy

destinationfile = directory/drive you want to copy to

changed space-indented underscores to a proper hr; used code tags around code
Source Link

I answered a similar question here a while back. My answer is copied below.

___________________________________

 

I use cp -Rfv sourcefile destinationfilecp -Rfv sourcefile destinationfile with success on a pretty regular basis.

cpcp = copy

RR = maintains file hierarchies

ff = if an existing destination file cannot be opened, remove it and try again

vv = verbose mode, displays files transferred as it progresses

sourcefilesourcefile = data you want to copy

destinationfiledestinationfile = directory/drive you want to copy to

I answered a similar question here a while back. My answer is copied below.

___________________________________

I use cp -Rfv sourcefile destinationfile with success on a pretty regular basis.

cp = copy

R = maintains file hierarchies

f = if an existing destination file cannot be opened, remove it and try again

v = verbose mode, displays files transferred as it progresses

sourcefile = data you want to copy

destinationfile = directory/drive you want to copy to

I answered a similar question here a while back. My answer is copied below.

 

I use cp -Rfv sourcefile destinationfile with success on a pretty regular basis.

cp = copy

R = maintains file hierarchies

f = if an existing destination file cannot be opened, remove it and try again

v = verbose mode, displays files transferred as it progresses

sourcefile = data you want to copy

destinationfile = directory/drive you want to copy to

Source Link
Mr Rabbit
  • 17.8k
  • 6
  • 36
  • 43

I answered a similar question here a while back. My answer is copied below.

___________________________________

I use cp -Rfv sourcefile destinationfile with success on a pretty regular basis.

cp = copy

R = maintains file hierarchies

f = if an existing destination file cannot be opened, remove it and try again

v = verbose mode, displays files transferred as it progresses

sourcefile = data you want to copy

destinationfile = directory/drive you want to copy to