Skip to main content
Tweeted twitter.com/StackAndroid/status/1065394578084282368
It is called Overview screen. :-)
Source Link
Firelord
  • 25.2k
  • 21
  • 125
  • 289

How can a thridthird party app is still runningrun in safe mode?

I had a problem with my phonea problem with my phone restarting at random, and it all started when I asked a third party app, FX File Explorer, to carry out a task (searching for duplicate files). So I duly rebooted the phone in safe mode.

The phone crashed on reboot, but with a cache wipe I was able to start it again and it was verifiably in Safe Mode.

FX File Explorer was absent from the home screen as expected and absent from the app list. I tried to force it to stop through app manager, but the phone just hangs, tried to uninstall it but with the same problem.

Moving back to another task using the openrecent apps list (the thing where one can switch between apps one is currently using, I've never know what it's actually calledOverview screen), I noticed that FX File Explorer had a window in that list. I touched on it and it opened, a fully functioning app. I thought safe mode was supposed to disable third party apps?

Firstly, how does FX File Explorer get to be still running even in safe mode?

Secondly, how do I stop it? Force stop just hangs forever until the phone restarts, uninstall just hangs forever. The phone appears to be working fine until I actually ask it to do anything (open an app, uninstall anything etc) then it just hangs. Being fairly sure it's FX File Explorer that's causing the problem, I need to stop it, but nothing seems to be able to get to it.

a thrid party app is still running in safe mode

I had a problem with my phone restarting at random, and it all started when I asked a third party app, FX File Explorer, to carry out a task (searching for duplicate files). So I duly rebooted the phone in safe mode.

The phone crashed on reboot, but with a cache wipe I was able to start it again and it was verifiably in Safe Mode.

FX File Explorer was absent from the home screen as expected and absent from the app list. I tried to force it to stop through app manager, but the phone just hangs, tried to uninstall it but with the same problem.

Moving back to another task using the open apps list (the thing where one can switch between apps one is currently using, I've never know what it's actually called), I noticed that FX File Explorer had a window in that list. I touched on it and it opened, a fully functioning app. I thought safe mode was supposed to disable third party apps?

Firstly, how does FX File Explorer get to be still running even in safe mode?

Secondly, how do I stop it? Force stop just hangs forever until the phone restarts, uninstall just hangs forever. The phone appears to be working fine until I actually ask it to do anything (open an app, uninstall anything etc) then it just hangs. Being fairly sure it's FX File Explorer that's causing the problem, I need to stop it, but nothing seems to be able to get to it.

How can a third party app run in safe mode?

I had a problem with my phone restarting at random, and it all started when I asked a third party app, FX File Explorer, to carry out a task (searching for duplicate files). So I duly rebooted the phone in safe mode.

The phone crashed on reboot, but with a cache wipe I was able to start it again and it was verifiably in Safe Mode.

FX File Explorer was absent from the home screen as expected and absent from the app list. I tried to force it to stop through app manager, but the phone just hangs, tried to uninstall it but with the same problem.

Moving back to another task using the recent apps list (Overview screen), I noticed that FX File Explorer had a window in that list. I touched on it and it opened, a fully functioning app. I thought safe mode was supposed to disable third party apps?

Firstly, how does FX File Explorer get to be still running even in safe mode?

Secondly, how do I stop it? Force stop just hangs forever until the phone restarts, uninstall just hangs forever. The phone appears to be working fine until I actually ask it to do anything (open an app, uninstall anything etc) then it just hangs. Being fairly sure it's FX File Explorer that's causing the problem, I need to stop it, but nothing seems to be able to get to it.

Source Link
Isaacson
  • 151
  • 1
  • 4

a thrid party app is still running in safe mode

I had a problem with my phone restarting at random, and it all started when I asked a third party app, FX File Explorer, to carry out a task (searching for duplicate files). So I duly rebooted the phone in safe mode.

The phone crashed on reboot, but with a cache wipe I was able to start it again and it was verifiably in Safe Mode.

FX File Explorer was absent from the home screen as expected and absent from the app list. I tried to force it to stop through app manager, but the phone just hangs, tried to uninstall it but with the same problem.

Moving back to another task using the open apps list (the thing where one can switch between apps one is currently using, I've never know what it's actually called), I noticed that FX File Explorer had a window in that list. I touched on it and it opened, a fully functioning app. I thought safe mode was supposed to disable third party apps?

Firstly, how does FX File Explorer get to be still running even in safe mode?

Secondly, how do I stop it? Force stop just hangs forever until the phone restarts, uninstall just hangs forever. The phone appears to be working fine until I actually ask it to do anything (open an app, uninstall anything etc) then it just hangs. Being fairly sure it's FX File Explorer that's causing the problem, I need to stop it, but nothing seems to be able to get to it.