Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

8
  • 1
    Here's the explanation from one of Google's engineers, BTW, which is the original source for my description: reddit.com/r/Android/comments/mg14z/… Commented Jan 25, 2018 at 21:02
  • 1
    @eldarerathis I'm aware of why they think its a good idea. It has it's down side though. For example usage in Windows. I'm sick of it warning me every time I copy a file that it's format isnt compatible format for my phone and that I should convert it when it's fine. Also it's just slower and you can't multitask copy operations. I have an older android phone that I like to use just because it has USB Mass Storage Mode. Well I don't want to be forced to just use that forever for my needs. Commented Jan 25, 2018 at 21:04
  • 1
    Also, the answers here are probably applicable: How can I use my Galaxy Nexus as an external USB storage drive? Commented Jan 25, 2018 at 21:05
  • 2
    @eldarerathis I understand. I agree it has benefits. Thank you for elaborating on google's decision. I'd still like a solution though to use USB storage. Commented Jan 25, 2018 at 21:33
  • 1
    Thank you for clarifying why MTP is bogus. I understand it's benefits, but it's useability is close to none.
    – neverMind9
    Commented Mar 20, 2019 at 1:36