Reflections from our #TeamUoB 2024 London Marathon Runners

A massive congratulations to our six #TeamUoB runners who ran the London Marathon in April, raising an incredible £14,313 in support of the Healthy Minds programme!

Healthy Minds supports students dealing with mental health challenges by offering personalised physical activity plans and access to sports facilities. Students are paired with a mentor from the University fitness team with advanced mental health training to guide and support them throughout their participation in the programme.

Thanks to the money raised by our 2024 London Marathon runners, even more students will be able to feel the benefits of physical activity on their wellbeing.

Andrew Ford, member of the Healthy Minds team at the University’s Centre for Sport, Exercise and Health said: ‘I wanted to send a huge congratulations to all the runners who participated in the London Marathon. Hearing about your stories and experiences from the day has been truly inspiring and your generosity in supporting our program is remarkable, and it means that even more students facing wellbeing concerns will receive the support they need.’

Read on to hear our runner’s reflections from race day.

Tommy Nicholson (BSc 2019)

‘Everyone describes the London Marathon an entirely unique event, with supporters at the sidelines the entire route – and they are right! It was a privilege to be able to support the Healthy Minds program – I’ve been buzzing since the race day, a reminder of the positive impact physical exercise can have on your mental health.

As a student I saw first hand how many of my peers were experiencing mental health difficulties. I also recognised, through my involvement with the Bristol Boat Club, how team sport and physical exercise can be extremely beneficial and provide a sense of belonging. I was inspired to set up Rowing Together for Healthy Minds (RTHM) with a friend with the aim to increase awareness of mental health within university rowing clubs.
Healthy Minds supported us with advice and guidance whilst we were launching RTHM, and I can attest to the fantastic work they do. Running the London Marathon to support them was incredibly meaningful to me.’

Emily Heath (BSc 2018)

‘It was such a privilege to represent Healthy Minds at the London Marathon. The Healthy Minds team work so hard and truly do make such a difference to the lives of many University students. I couldn’t recommend taking part in their London Marathon programme enough , it was a truly unforgettable experience, and I felt supported by the University team at every point along the way.’

 

 

 

 

 

Solenne, current Anthropology student

‘Running the London Marathon was such a wonderful experience, and I’m so grateful I got to represent the University of Bristol and Healthy Minds. Seeing so many people in one place was beautiful, with people running for many incredible charities and spectators being so supportive. It’ll be a day I look back on fondly forever, especially since it was my first marathon!

Thank you to those who helped organise this opportunity, those who donated to the fundraiser, and those who came to support me. I feel honoured to have been part of such a special day.’

 

Gareth Hembrough, staff

‘What an amazing event the London Marathon is: the crowds, the energy, the atmosphere, the sights, the organisation, everything… I had a fantastic day! I was so proud to be running for Healthy Minds, I can’t think of a better cause to have supported. I know from experience that exercise is a huge benefit for my own mental and physical wellbeing. Many thanks to everyone who supported me through their encouragement and sponsorship!’

Neil Hext (LLM 1992)

‘It was a fantastic day – thousands of people lining the route all cheering us on. The last few miles were a challenge, but I was really pleased to finish and raise to money for Healthy Minds.’

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tom Moody (BSc 2012)

‘An unforgettable experience, created by a deep sense of community and camaraderie by the swathes of both participants and spectators. Everyone clearly arrives buoyed by the climax of months of training, but perhaps more importantly driven to deliver against the causes they are championing. A huge thanks to the many people donating behind the scenes, as they are the real force behind the marathon.’

 

 

 

 

The 2025 London Marathon will take place in April 2025, and applications will open in July 2024.

Thank you to our sponsor Academia for supporting Healthy Minds.

Leave a Reply