Skip to main content
Question Protected by Alexandros
Notice removed Draw attention by CommunityBot
Bounty Ended with SSimon's answer chosen by CommunityBot
edited tags
Link
ff524
  • 109.2k
  • 50
  • 422
  • 476
Tweeted twitter.com/StackAcademia/status/870964157046280192
Notice added Draw attention by Open the way
Bounty Started worth 200 reputation by Open the way

I am supervising a research group. Each year, our Institution givesinstitution offers several four years postdoc positionpositions, and I told one year ago toI told a friend of mine to apply to it, because we work in very similar fields and I thought there would be a lot of synergy. She got the position, but after these 12 months she refuses to do almost anything I tell her to.

At the beginning I waited, since we are friends and I dodid not want to trouble our friendship, but at some point I realized that she uses our good relationship in order toas an excuse why she isfor not doing anything at all, and from the other side, it is hard for me to tell her that she is doing wrong. Anyway, in the last 2 weeks we have had some wordwords, and I told her that she must respect her work conditions and work in our projects. She dayssays she has never done that, since she feels pressure, and that she works better starting and choosing all projects by herself without any indication from me or any other supervisor. In those projects she does not even count with me in for co-authorship and sometimes never telltells me what she is doing. In her project proposal it was stated "I will contribute to the group's research lines and adapt to it" and in her contract it was written the same. So it is clear to me, that she is going against these conditions. I have talked with her about the situation but she refuses to agree and says that I am wrong and that she deserves respect since she feels like a very important scientist.

I want to solve this situation but I feel dialogue does not work here anymore. Scenarios I see are; a) I set up a meeting with her and the head of the department; here she knows she will be in real trouble, b) I forget about her completely so that I avoid headaches, but I am responsible for her and need to report her output from time to time, so I could be in trouble if she does nothing, c) ....are:

  1. I set up a meeting with her and the head of the department; here she knows she will be in real trouble,
  2. I forget about her completely to avoid headaches, but I am responsible for her and need to report her output from time to time, so I could be in trouble if she does nothing,
  3. ....

So, what would you suggest to do in this situation?

Thanks

I am supervising a research group. Each year, our Institution gives several four years postdoc position, and I told one year ago to a friend of mine to apply to it, because we work in very similar fields and I thought there would be a lot of synergy. She got the position, but after these 12 months she refuses to do almost anything I tell her.

At the beginning I waited, since we are friends and I do not want to trouble our friendship but at some point I realized that she uses our good relationship in order to excuse why she is not doing anything at all, and from the other side, it is hard for me to tell her that she is doing wrong. Anyway, in the last 2 weeks we have had some word, and I told her that she must respect her work conditions and work in our projects. She days she has never done that, since she feels pressure, and that she works better starting and choosing all projects by herself without any indication from me or any other supervisor. In those projects she does not even count with me for co-authorship and sometimes never tell me what she is doing. In her project proposal it was stated "I will contribute to the group's research lines and adapt to it" and in her contract it was written the same. So it is clear to me, she is going against these conditions. I have talked with her about the situation but she refuses to agree and says that I am wrong and that she deserves respect since she feels like a very important scientist.

I want to solve this situation but I feel dialogue does not work here anymore. Scenarios I see are; a) I set up a meeting with her and the head of the department; here she knows she will be in real trouble, b) I forget about her completely so that I avoid headaches, but I am responsible for her and need to report her output from time to time, so I could be in trouble if she does nothing, c) ....

So, what would you suggest to do in this situation?

Thanks

I am supervising a research group. Each year, our institution offers several four years postdoc positions, and one year ago I told a friend of mine to apply to it because we work in very similar fields and I thought there would be a lot of synergy. She got the position, but after these 12 months she refuses to do almost anything I tell her to.

At the beginning I waited, since we are friends and I did not want to trouble our friendship, but at some point I realized that she uses our good relationship as an excuse for not doing anything at all, and from the other side, it is hard for me to tell her that she is doing wrong. Anyway, in the last 2 weeks we have had some words, and I told her that she must respect her work conditions and work in our projects. She says she has never done that, since she feels pressure, and that she works better starting and choosing all projects by herself without any indication from me or any other supervisor. In those projects she does not even count me in for co-authorship and sometimes never tells me what she is doing. In her project proposal it was stated "I will contribute to the group's research lines and adapt to it" and in her contract it was written the same. So it is clear to me that she is going against these conditions. I have talked with her about the situation but she refuses to agree and says that I am wrong and that she deserves respect since she feels like a very important scientist.

I want to solve this situation but I feel dialogue does not work here anymore. Scenarios I see are:

  1. I set up a meeting with her and the head of the department; here she knows she will be in real trouble,
  2. I forget about her completely to avoid headaches, but I am responsible for her and need to report her output from time to time, so I could be in trouble if she does nothing,
  3. ....

So, what would you suggest to do in this situation?

Thanks

added 53 characters in body
Source Link
Open the way
  • 2.2k
  • 2
  • 29
  • 50

I am supervising a research group. Each year, our Institution gives several 4four years postdoc position, and I told 1one year ago to a friend of mine to apply to it, because we work in very similar fieldfields and I thought theythere would be a lot of synergy. She got the position, but after these 12 months she refuses to do almost anything I tell her. 

At the beginning I waited, since we are friends and I do not want to trouble our friendship but at some point I realized that she uses our good relationship in order to excuse why she is not doing anything at all, and from the other side, it is hard for me to tell her that she is doing wrong. Anyway, in the last 2 weeks we have had some word, and I told her that she must respect her work conditions and work in our projects. She days she has never done that, since she feels pressure, and that she works better starting and choosing all projects by herself, whatever she likes to do without any indication from me or any other supervisor. In those projects she does not even count with me for co-authorship and sometimes never tell me what she is doing. In her project proposal it was stated "I will contribute to the group's research lines and adapt to it" and in her contract it was written the same. So it is clear to me, she is going against these conditions. I have talked with her about the situation but she refuses to agree and says that I am wrong and that she deserves respect since she feels like a very important scientist.

I want to solve this situation but I feel dialogue does not work here anymore. Scenarios I see are; a) I set up a meeting with her and the head of the department; here she knows she will be in real trouble, b) I forget about her completely so that I avoid headaches, but I am responsible for her and need to report her output from time to time, so I could be in trouble if she does nothing, c) ....

So, what would you suggest to do in this situation?

Thanks

I am supervising a research group. Each year, our Institution gives several 4 years postdoc position, and I told 1 year ago to a friend of mine to apply to it, because we work in very similar field and I thought they would be a lot of synergy. She got the position, but after these 12 months she refuses to do almost anything I tell her. At the beginning I waited, since we are friends and I do not want to trouble our friendship but at some point I realized that she uses our good relationship in order to excuse why she is not doing anything at all, and from the other side, it is hard for me to tell her that she is doing wrong. Anyway, in the last 2 weeks we have had some word, and I told her that she must respect her work conditions and work in our projects. She days she has never done that, since she feels pressure, and that she works better starting all projects by herself, whatever she likes to do. In those projects she does not even count with me for co-authorship and sometimes never tell me what she is doing. In her project proposal it was stated "I will contribute to the group's research lines and adapt to it" and in her contract it was written the same. So it is clear to me, she is going against these conditions. I have talked with her about the situation but she refuses to agree and says that I am wrong and that she deserves respect since she feels like a very important scientist.

I want to solve this situation but I feel dialogue does not work here anymore. Scenarios I see are; a) I set up a meeting with her and the head of the department; here she knows she will be in real trouble, b) I forget about her completely so that I avoid headaches, but I am responsible for her and need to report her output from time to time, so I could be in trouble if she does nothing, c) ....

So, what would you suggest to do in this situation?

Thanks

I am supervising a research group. Each year, our Institution gives several four years postdoc position, and I told one year ago to a friend of mine to apply to it, because we work in very similar fields and I thought there would be a lot of synergy. She got the position, but after these 12 months she refuses to do almost anything I tell her. 

At the beginning I waited, since we are friends and I do not want to trouble our friendship but at some point I realized that she uses our good relationship in order to excuse why she is not doing anything at all, and from the other side, it is hard for me to tell her that she is doing wrong. Anyway, in the last 2 weeks we have had some word, and I told her that she must respect her work conditions and work in our projects. She days she has never done that, since she feels pressure, and that she works better starting and choosing all projects by herself without any indication from me or any other supervisor. In those projects she does not even count with me for co-authorship and sometimes never tell me what she is doing. In her project proposal it was stated "I will contribute to the group's research lines and adapt to it" and in her contract it was written the same. So it is clear to me, she is going against these conditions. I have talked with her about the situation but she refuses to agree and says that I am wrong and that she deserves respect since she feels like a very important scientist.

I want to solve this situation but I feel dialogue does not work here anymore. Scenarios I see are; a) I set up a meeting with her and the head of the department; here she knows she will be in real trouble, b) I forget about her completely so that I avoid headaches, but I am responsible for her and need to report her output from time to time, so I could be in trouble if she does nothing, c) ....

So, what would you suggest to do in this situation?

Thanks

Source Link
Open the way
  • 2.2k
  • 2
  • 29
  • 50
Loading