Skip to main content
14 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Dec 15, 2016 at 18:57 comment added Jacob Murray Wakem Well have you tried not being competitive? Have you tried competing against "lesser mortals"? How do these make you feel? I don't think you want to turn out like the dry alcoholic who has lost his personality.
Dec 15, 2016 at 17:34 comment added Anonymous @polfosol I haven't, but I'm considering to do so, and I have realized that this is a very unhealthy attitude.
Dec 15, 2016 at 6:52 comment added polfosol I mean no offense by this but, have you considered consulting a psychiatrist about this issue? Because this attitude can be harmful in the long run
Dec 15, 2016 at 3:08 comment added Anonymous @PatriciaShanahan that's exactly why I'm posting my question here: to find a way to have a better mindset.
Dec 15, 2016 at 3:06 comment added Patricia Shanahan I think you need to find some way to deal with the problem, and accept that you will always see people who are more capable than you in at least some ways. There are some very, very smart people in industry and government.
Dec 15, 2016 at 3:03 answer added Dan Romik timeline score: 5
Dec 15, 2016 at 2:45 answer added Jacob Murray Wakem timeline score: 0
Dec 15, 2016 at 2:35 comment added Jacob Murray Wakem If you wind up with people who are far superior to you then at least the hiring committee is obviously inferior to you.
Dec 15, 2016 at 2:28 comment added Anonymous @Jeff It is indeed hard to discuss this problem with someone I know...
Dec 15, 2016 at 2:23 comment added Jeff Have you talked to a professional about this? You say you're competitive, but what you're describing seems to go beyond that. I suppose my short answer to your question is "yes, that sounds like it will be a problem in academia, but maybe it's not inevitable for you to feel this way."
Dec 15, 2016 at 2:20 comment added Anonymous @Jeff It's been an issue for years, but for the past three years since I enrolled my PhD, I did my best to preserve. I ask this question today here partly because I feel I will be out of determination soon....
Dec 15, 2016 at 2:17 comment added Jeff How did you manage this issue while actually working on your PhD? It seems like such an attitude would be a major issue long before you got to the job market.
Dec 15, 2016 at 2:06 review First posts
Dec 15, 2016 at 2:15
Dec 15, 2016 at 2:05 history asked Anonymous CC BY-SA 3.0