Skip to main content
27 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jun 10, 2020 at 14:12 history edited CommunityBot
Commonmark migration
Oct 8, 2016 at 23:07 comment added user1840025 @O.R.Mapper - I cannot understand how it would be possible for my academic progress not to be harmed by so much time lost that could otherwise be spent on the project. Additionally, when you say "reasonably expectable competition", I'm not sure what kind of competition you're thinking of. There are departments at Berkeley and Oxford I have my eye on. Though not likely I will get in, I should not shortchange myself I think.
Oct 8, 2016 at 22:17 comment added O. R. Mapper ... is usually also seen as a valuable goal in "free-form" projects such as theses. Your supervisor might be seeing that goal "at stake". In clearer words: One possible scenario here is that, despite your mental issues, your academic progress is not harmed; your supervisor recognizes that, but you don't. They are trying to make you aware that your mental issues are not harming your work output, while you interpret their statements as signals they expect you to work better, as if your mental issues did not exist. At least, that's what parts of your account sound like to me.
Oct 8, 2016 at 22:12 comment added O. R. Mapper @Sudo: I understood "capable of obtaining a High Distinction" as not merely sufficient for graduating, but indeed as sufficient for beating any reasonably expectable competition. Of course, the information about that is rather sketchy in this question (and is indeed not in the focus here); I am just trying to point out that "I'm not a perfectionist" may be an erroneous self-assessment from your supervisor's point of view. "asking for the same time that everyone else gets" is procedurally legitimate, but learning whether to invest any effort to do better even though you "could do better" ...
Oct 8, 2016 at 22:02 comment added user1840025 @O.R.Mapper - "sufficient" is fine if the end goal is graduating. I intend on getting into academia, and with the competition, I should be given every chance to do my best. I don't know where the attitude of mediocrity is coming from in the responses to this question. The reality is that marks matter in this world-- even if they shouldn't. I am certain I could do better if given the time. I'm not a perfectionist; I'm merely asking for the same time that everyone else gets.
Oct 8, 2016 at 20:18 comment added O. R. Mapper ... are already fully sufficient.
Oct 8, 2016 at 20:18 comment added O. R. Mapper 'It is apparent from their other comments that they do not understand what depression truly is (i.e. "everyone gets nervous at the end of an Honours thesis").' - at least based upon your description, "nervous" there is not referring to your condition, but to your desire for an extension. You write "I (conservatively) estimated that I work less than half of the amount of time I would be able to if not afflicted" - your supervisor is not telling you that you should "get over with being afflicated" or anything like that; they are telling you that by "work[ing] less than half", your results ...
Oct 8, 2016 at 20:04 history edited user1840025 CC BY-SA 3.0
added 113 characters in body
Oct 8, 2016 at 2:28 answer added aparente001 timeline score: 3
Oct 8, 2016 at 1:54 history edited aparente001 CC BY-SA 3.0
aide -> aid, lobby -> push
Oct 7, 2016 at 8:04 comment added Captain Emacs @sudo This is a problem, of course. In many places, there are semi-compulsory courses to raise awareness, but there is little that can be done if the supervisor is not aware of this. In the meantime, I can only offer the suggestion to try the best possible in the range of your possibilities (which is not much of an advice) and make a balance between not too much damaging your relation with the supervisor and your legitimate interest to get a fair shot towards your potential achievements.
Oct 7, 2016 at 0:09 answer added Mark Joshi timeline score: 0
Oct 6, 2016 at 23:43 history edited user1840025 CC BY-SA 3.0
added 462 characters in body
Oct 6, 2016 at 23:39 comment added user1840025 @CaptainEmacs - Thanks, that gives me some perspective. I think it's probably the same in Australia, as my supervisor said at some point "it's between you and the convenor...". I have a great deal of respect for my supervisor however, and it feels wrong to 'overrule' him in this manner. I fear it would affect the working relationship. I'm not sure how to reconcile this.
Oct 6, 2016 at 23:31 comment added Captain Emacs This is in UK (and probably US) not at the discretion of the supervisor. In these countries, there is a dedicated office to deal with the issue and they issue directives as to how you are to be treated. Alas, if you are in a country which does not provide this protection, then you should see whether there is the analogue of such protection or some student union, ombudsman or similar.
Oct 6, 2016 at 22:30 answer added mhwombat timeline score: 5
Oct 6, 2016 at 21:48 comment added Jon Custer In the US at least, there will be an office that deals with implementing university policy in this area. The supervisor's reluctance to cooperate can and will be fixed by them if they determine that your disability warrants it. Disobeying federal law tends not to be in professor's self-interest. This depends if the appropriate university office determines that you qualify, and then what the policy remedy is.
Oct 6, 2016 at 20:53 comment added user1840025 @JonCuster - I'm not quite sure what you mean. I have approval for a small extension from the department already; essentially the choice is mine, not my supervisor's. However, his/her reluctance to cooperate could cause problems. This is something a department can't fix.
Oct 6, 2016 at 20:06 comment added Jon Custer The answer to this is to approach the department chair, dean, or whatever office deals with disabilities. They have the answers as to what university policy will or will not allow, and generally universities don't particularly like individual professors making such decisions (because each one may interpret it differently).
Oct 6, 2016 at 18:59 history tweeted twitter.com/StackAcademia/status/784105762486444033
Oct 6, 2016 at 15:58 history edited user1840025 CC BY-SA 3.0
added 28 characters in body
Oct 6, 2016 at 15:57 comment added user1840025 @ff524 Okay, I did originally say the country but I edited it out for increased confidentiality. Oh well, I'll put it back in.
Oct 6, 2016 at 15:54 comment added ff524 What country are you in? Depending on the location, you may have some legal protections. If you edit your post to specify, someone may be able to offer some more specific advice.
Oct 6, 2016 at 15:53 history edited ff524 CC BY-SA 3.0
edited tags; edited title; edited tags
Oct 6, 2016 at 15:33 history edited user1840025 CC BY-SA 3.0
Obfuscated gender. Oh well, it's in the edit history now.
Oct 6, 2016 at 15:28 review First posts
Oct 6, 2016 at 17:18
Oct 6, 2016 at 15:24 history asked user1840025 CC BY-SA 3.0