Skip to main content
7 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Oct 24, 2015 at 18:42 comment added Massimo Ortolano @reirab: I generally agree with you, but my answer specifically addressed what seems to be the OP's decision to let the students do the exercises during the lecture time, so that they are assisted, and I didn't want to question his method (I've just suggested to distribute differently the two parts). And he is not alone, actually: many professors run this kind of assisted exercise sessions (I don't), so in some cases they might be useful.
Oct 24, 2015 at 18:15 comment added reirab I agree with most of this, except for the 1.5 hours of letting the students work at the end of a lecture. That's not what lecture time is for. If you're finished with the lecture, just dismiss it and let students do their exercises on their own time. If they choose not to do the exercises on their own time, that's their problem; not yours. They're adults and should know how to manage their time.
Oct 24, 2015 at 17:16 comment added Sumurai8 As for point 1, expect me to fall asleep due to lack of oxigen in the poorly ventilated, often packed, lecture halls if breaks are every 1.5 to 2 hours. A break allows me to stretch my legs, get the blood flowing again and concentrate again for another 30-45 minutes. Even taking notes and answering questions the professor asks keeps me from falling asleep for soo long. From personal experience, don't give less breaks, or allow windows to be opened completely even when it is -10 degrees outside.
Oct 24, 2015 at 5:25 history edited aparente001 CC BY-SA 3.0
proofreading
Oct 24, 2015 at 3:35 comment added Nobody +1 I like point (5). But, it may have negative impact to the teaching evaluation rating, though.
Oct 23, 2015 at 20:10 history edited Massimo Ortolano CC BY-SA 3.0
added 104 characters in body
Oct 23, 2015 at 20:04 history answered Massimo Ortolano CC BY-SA 3.0