Skip to main content
8 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Sep 8, 2020 at 10:32 comment added user111388 That is just horrible.
Oct 26, 2015 at 18:36 comment added blankip @MelanieShebel - This is not to call out a student who whispers for a couple of seconds. This is to squash an ongoing conversation in the middle of my class. I would say the 3rd time I look over and notice the same two people talking is when I would think about doing this.
Oct 25, 2015 at 20:57 comment added Melanie Shebel I'm a student and I've had students lean over and ask me to repeat what the professor said. I'm very quiet and polite and make it very obvious I'm describing what the professor is going over (pointing at the board and my notes)... again, VERY quietly and VERY briefly. If a professor were to call me out like this in this one instance where I talk in class, I would be devastated.
Oct 25, 2015 at 0:50 comment added BonsaiOak Perfectly fine response, but only do it if they're clearly disrupting the class. It's not rude in that case.
Oct 23, 2015 at 20:00 comment added Davidmh This is also disrespectful for the students who want to learn, went to a lecture, and got a circus instead. Don't waste their time.
Oct 23, 2015 at 19:35 comment added Patrice Yeah seriously. This is just a teacher on a power trip trying to shame people like if they were in kindergarten. It's bad of them to chit-chat while a teacher talks, but that's no reason to treat them like kids passing around notes in class.
Oct 23, 2015 at 17:06 comment added yo' No, it is not entertaining, it is embarrassing. You should not try to embarrass people.
Oct 23, 2015 at 15:59 history answered blankip CC BY-SA 3.0