Skip to main content
10 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Oct 25, 2015 at 3:33 history edited sean CC BY-SA 3.0
added 332 characters in body
Oct 24, 2015 at 18:38 comment added reirab On the positive side, I did set several high scores on the games I was playing on my graphing calculator in that class.
Oct 24, 2015 at 18:35 comment added reirab As an aside, I would also add that this doesn't work for students who don't appear to be paying attention, but aren't talking. I'm remembering myself from high school here. I had one math teacher (pre-Calculus) who was just so absolutely awful that I would actually know less about the material if I paid attention to her, so I didn't. Occasionally, she'd attempt to bring attention to this by asking me the answer to a question she'd been working on for the last 10 minutes. After a couple of times of me responding with the correct answer without even looking up, she stopped doing that. :)
Oct 24, 2015 at 18:00 comment added JeffE @yo' Sometimes —fortunately, rarely — adults need to be shamed.
Oct 23, 2015 at 18:15 comment added Mdev By doing this, you also run the risk of the student making the class laugh by giving a delightfully stupid answer. I've been that student more than a few times.
Oct 23, 2015 at 17:25 comment added yo' @qsp Questions are a good thing, but it doesn't mean that every question is a good thing. Of course, questions used to waken the class up, get a feedback on whether your lecture is clear etc. -- that's fine. But here, you obviously ask the question only to embarrass the chatting people.
Oct 23, 2015 at 17:21 comment added sean @yo': teachers are supposed to ask questions in class, right? or they should not? What's wrong with choosing the disturbing guys for questions? I should mention again that I was embarrassed, but there were no hard feelings.
Oct 23, 2015 at 16:57 comment added yo' This is so passive-aggressive. Please do not do that. It's better to tell them: "Excuse me, but your chit-chat is disturbing the class," than to try to put a shame on them. They are adults, for Pete's sake.
Oct 23, 2015 at 15:05 comment added A E When doing this, it helps to say the name of the student at the end of the question (rather than the start), because if the name is at the start then a proportion of the class stops paying so much attention as soon as they hear someone else's name. E.g. "Description of problem followed by question ... Johnny?" Rather than "Johnny, description of problem followed by question"
Oct 23, 2015 at 14:25 history answered sean CC BY-SA 3.0