Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

8
  • 16
    This is so passive-aggressive. Please do not do that. It's better to tell them: "Excuse me, but your chit-chat is disturbing the class," than to try to put a shame on them. They are adults, for Pete's sake.
    – yo'
    Commented Oct 23, 2015 at 16:57
  • 8
    @qsp Questions are a good thing, but it doesn't mean that every question is a good thing. Of course, questions used to waken the class up, get a feedback on whether your lecture is clear etc. -- that's fine. But here, you obviously ask the question only to embarrass the chatting people.
    – yo'
    Commented Oct 23, 2015 at 17:25
  • 9
    By doing this, you also run the risk of the student making the class laugh by giving a delightfully stupid answer. I've been that student more than a few times.
    – Mdev
    Commented Oct 23, 2015 at 18:15
  • 4
    As an aside, I would also add that this doesn't work for students who don't appear to be paying attention, but aren't talking. I'm remembering myself from high school here. I had one math teacher (pre-Calculus) who was just so absolutely awful that I would actually know less about the material if I paid attention to her, so I didn't. Occasionally, she'd attempt to bring attention to this by asking me the answer to a question she'd been working on for the last 10 minutes. After a couple of times of me responding with the correct answer without even looking up, she stopped doing that. :)
    – reirab
    Commented Oct 24, 2015 at 18:35
  • 3
    On the positive side, I did set several high scores on the games I was playing on my graphing calculator in that class.
    – reirab
    Commented Oct 24, 2015 at 18:38