Skip to main content
8 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Sep 3, 2015 at 16:05 history edited thomij CC BY-SA 3.0
added 1570 characters in body
Sep 3, 2015 at 15:56 comment added thomij @Alexandros - I don't think that what you are saying is contradicting what I am saying.
Sep 3, 2015 at 15:54 comment added Alexandros @thomj. 2 hours for 1 lecture and 1 hour to revisit / redo the exercises done in the lecture is enough to learn DE. It worked for me and many others, without even opening the book, by just reading from my notes and lecturer's handouts. Learning straight from the book without the lecture will be much-much slower.
Sep 3, 2015 at 15:51 comment added thomij @Alexandros - I do not think you can learn D.E. just by sitting in lectures. I am sure you would need to practice at some point, and you will get much more out of your practice time with a book than with lecture notes alone.
Sep 3, 2015 at 15:51 comment added thomij @Memj I taught for several years and have a PhD, so I've taken lots of classes. This statement is based on my personal experience and observation of peers and students. Your statement is not incorrect, but I think you missed the point of mine.
Sep 3, 2015 at 9:35 comment added Alexandros No, it is not. Spending 4 hours per week for a semester is 60+ hours where trying to learn differential equations from a book would take much longer.
Sep 3, 2015 at 6:47 comment added Memj What evidence do you have of this? Not everyone learns the same way and some students struggle to learn anything from a textbook but can pass a course on lectures alone.
Sep 3, 2015 at 4:11 history answered thomij CC BY-SA 3.0