Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

17
  • 16
    would anyone support a motion to limit the number of authors? Yes
    – Cape Code
    Commented Jun 24, 2015 at 13:07
  • 8
    @JonCuster: "The journals that have decided on reference limits have done so with a conscious decision for a reason... From your comments below you do not see their side of it at all." That's why I asked the question. If you do see their side, educate me, please? Commented Jun 24, 2015 at 13:27
  • 9
    In fact, if most authors never exceed 20 references, a limit of 30 references is a solution in search of a non-existent problem. I am inclined to believe the policy was instituted because there actually was once a problem. The question is: what was it? Was there actually an observed upward creep in the number of references before the policy was instituted? Was there a big scandal concerning gratuitous references? Was there a famous complaint about the decline of the state of scientific writing? Commented Jun 24, 2015 at 13:44
  • 9
    @JonCuster: Throughout this whole discussion you have asserted that they have their reasons. I have never disputed that. I don't feel strongly about the fact that journals have reference limits. I have never run against them and probably never will. I do, however, feel strongly about your comments which entirely mischaracterize my question and my motives. I refuse to believe, based on your words and your words alone, that journals instituted this policy just to help us write better. I am more inclined to believe that the journals instituted this policy because of problems of ... Commented Jun 24, 2015 at 15:36
  • 7
    ...gratuitous citations. But I have edited my question one hour ago to be extremely specific (in line with the Stack Exchange preference for factual answerable questions): if the worries are gratuitous citations, what led to this worry? I invite you to re-read my previous comment. // As an aside I found your comments highly demeaning, and I thank you to stick to the facts and stop casting aspersions based on imaginary intent. Commented Jun 24, 2015 at 15:39