Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

20
  • 35
    That's doesn't seem normal unless they're close friends. I would recommend that friend say no anytime this came up.
    – Compass
    Commented Dec 12, 2014 at 17:22
  • 11
    Occupation and gender don't really matter. I would only consider babysitting family friends for free, and normally the expectation is that they'll repay you down the road when you need a favor.
    – Compass
    Commented Dec 12, 2014 at 17:38
  • 37
    Utterly inappropriate, unless they are friends. (And given the power imbalance involved, I'd say it's still unprofessional even then.) Does the professor expect other students of his to wash his car? To trim his lawn? For free? Should I expect my manager to ask me to help his kids with their homework? I'd say the relevant question here is how can my friend extricate herself from this situation? There's a bit of a difference between declining the first such request and breaking a habit on the professor's side that appears to have been going unchallenged for a while. Commented Dec 12, 2014 at 18:11
  • 26
    @Compass [...] gender don't really matter it most likely does. I suspect said professor is not asking male postdocs to babysit his kids.
    – Cape Code
    Commented Dec 12, 2014 at 18:30
  • 36
    Is this really a question? Is the answer not common sense? I feel like I've started seeing way too many rant-questions on this site lately.
    – user541686
    Commented Dec 12, 2014 at 21:25