Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

6
  • 1
    JeffE is a full professor with a 2.4. Emphasize your research skills, and find the right supervisor who cares more about your research than your grades.
    – Moriarty
    Commented May 26, 2014 at 15:00
  • I read that post before I posted mine, the thing is I have alot more research experience than that poster (he had mostly teaching experience if I remember correctly). I figured my situation was different enough to warrant my own thread.
    – clope023
    Commented May 26, 2014 at 15:17
  • 1
    Hi clope023, it's great that you have research experience and it will certainly help for graduate admissions! But the advice in the linked post applies to your situation as well.
    – ff524
    Commented May 26, 2014 at 15:23
  • 1
    See especially the answer by TCSGrad :)
    – ff524
    Commented May 26, 2014 at 15:32
  • 2
    My bad grades came from my first year courses — Sorry, but that doesn't scan. With a first-year GPA of 1.0 (which would have led to your immediate suspension) your last-three-years GPA would be 2.7. Even if your first-year GPA was a perfect 0.0, your last-three-years GPA would be 3.0, barely above the minimum for graduate admission at most universities.
    – JeffE
    Commented May 26, 2014 at 16:42