Skip to main content
added 232 characters in body
Source Link
Raheel
  • 113
  • 5

I am planning to apply to Master in CS programs in various top institutes. All 3 of my potential referees are from pure math background. Two of them work in Number theory and the other works in Representation/Algebraic Combinatorics. I have worked with CS professors too, but they were mostly reading projects. With two of the referees, I worked on a research project and other professor's class I have TAed and attended.

All three are very important for my applications. They reflect my TA qualities and my research qualities.

However, I am applying for master in CS because I am not sure if I want to pursue math or cs in PhD. I spent a lot of time in math research and I feel a masters in CS will help me see how research in CS looks like.

However, will taking LOR from 3 math professors affect the chances?

A few more details: I am doing a double major in math and CS( mainly theoretical CS). And I have taken graduate-level courses in both math and CS where I have received decent grades. And I have TA experience in both math and CS.

I am planning to apply to Master in CS programs in various top institutes. All 3 of my potential referees are from pure math background. Two of them work in Number theory and the other works in Representation/Algebraic Combinatorics. I have worked with CS professors too, but they were mostly reading projects. With two of the referees, I worked on a research project and other professor's class I have TAed and attended.

All three are very important for my applications. They reflect my TA qualities and my research qualities.

However, I am applying for master in CS because I am not sure if I want to pursue math or cs in PhD. I spent a lot of time in math research and I feel a masters in CS will help me see how research in CS looks like.

However, will taking LOR from 3 math professors affect the chances?

I am planning to apply to Master in CS programs in various top institutes. All 3 of my potential referees are from pure math background. Two of them work in Number theory and the other works in Representation/Algebraic Combinatorics. I have worked with CS professors too, but they were mostly reading projects. With two of the referees, I worked on a research project and other professor's class I have TAed and attended.

All three are very important for my applications. They reflect my TA qualities and my research qualities.

However, I am applying for master in CS because I am not sure if I want to pursue math or cs in PhD. I spent a lot of time in math research and I feel a masters in CS will help me see how research in CS looks like.

However, will taking LOR from 3 math professors affect the chances?

A few more details: I am doing a double major in math and CS( mainly theoretical CS). And I have taken graduate-level courses in both math and CS where I have received decent grades. And I have TA experience in both math and CS.

Source Link
Raheel
  • 113
  • 5

All three LOR from math professors while applying for CS program

I am planning to apply to Master in CS programs in various top institutes. All 3 of my potential referees are from pure math background. Two of them work in Number theory and the other works in Representation/Algebraic Combinatorics. I have worked with CS professors too, but they were mostly reading projects. With two of the referees, I worked on a research project and other professor's class I have TAed and attended.

All three are very important for my applications. They reflect my TA qualities and my research qualities.

However, I am applying for master in CS because I am not sure if I want to pursue math or cs in PhD. I spent a lot of time in math research and I feel a masters in CS will help me see how research in CS looks like.

However, will taking LOR from 3 math professors affect the chances?