Skip to main content
8 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jun 19 at 15:02 comment added Azor Ahai -him- @user176372 For sure. In my field, data is expensive and difficult to acquire and so people are reluctant to just share their hard-won data.
Jun 19 at 5:32 vote accept The_old_man
Jun 19 at 2:55 comment added The_old_man @user176372 Thats an excellent suggestion! Thanks!
Jun 19 at 2:54 comment added user176372 @The_old_man Maybe the data isn't considered essential in your field! But if you think it's important and intend to distribute it, what's a few extra reviewers receiving it to you? If you want to be particularly careful with it, find a distribution system that lets you stop distributing, e.g. via a particular link, if the paper gets rejected.
Jun 19 at 2:50 comment added user176372 @AzorAhai-him- Computational math, blends into machine learning/robotics/bio imaging from time to time. I'm maybe being a bit glib, but it does seem to me like omitting data is considered increasingly less acceptable in recent years.
Jun 19 at 2:35 comment added The_old_man Ok I didn't expect this to be this vital for the reviewers as the majority of studies in my field don't even publish their data, let alone their code. I am now leaning towards sharing everything in the submission as I have come up with some code templates that will be useful in the field. However, I am unfortunately a bit paranoid, mostly because I don't know how many times this submission will change hand before it is finally accepted somewhere given how much I worked on this project.
Jun 18 at 13:23 comment added Azor Ahai -him- "essential data is quite a risk, I think. I've seldom heard of this being omitted." What field are you writing from?
Jun 18 at 4:36 history answered user176372 CC BY-SA 4.0