Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

6
  • 2
    "essential data is quite a risk, I think. I've seldom heard of this being omitted." What field are you writing from? Commented Jun 18 at 13:23
  • Ok I didn't expect this to be this vital for the reviewers as the majority of studies in my field don't even publish their data, let alone their code. I am now leaning towards sharing everything in the submission as I have come up with some code templates that will be useful in the field. However, I am unfortunately a bit paranoid, mostly because I don't know how many times this submission will change hand before it is finally accepted somewhere given how much I worked on this project. Commented Jun 19 at 2:35
  • 1
    @AzorAhai-him- Computational math, blends into machine learning/robotics/bio imaging from time to time. I'm maybe being a bit glib, but it does seem to me like omitting data is considered increasingly less acceptable in recent years.
    – user176372
    Commented Jun 19 at 2:50
  • 1
    @The_old_man Maybe the data isn't considered essential in your field! But if you think it's important and intend to distribute it, what's a few extra reviewers receiving it to you? If you want to be particularly careful with it, find a distribution system that lets you stop distributing, e.g. via a particular link, if the paper gets rejected.
    – user176372
    Commented Jun 19 at 2:54
  • @user176372 Thats an excellent suggestion! Thanks! Commented Jun 19 at 2:55