Skip to main content
17 events
when toggle format what by license comment
May 20, 2014 at 21:31 comment added azer89 I think this is due the problem I'm still working on my program and I need to produce some more results. In this case, the submission deadline is approaching And I can't do both coding and writing.
May 20, 2014 at 21:28 comment added azer89 Hi @JeffE, I am not allowed to do that, He wants to write the paper by himself. I just assist him in writing the preliminary manuscript.
May 20, 2014 at 15:53 comment added JeffE My adviser thinks that he should rewrite the paper by his own words since he's better in English. He's correct. — No, he isn't. You should write the paper, because he's better at English. How else are you going to improve your English?
May 20, 2014 at 0:23 comment added azer89 I mostly agree with @RexKerr, I own the entire research, but the paper is contributed by my adviser. After I think about others feedback and also considering about the risks I have, I decide to accept this answer although it's really correct. I guess I just need to accept what my adviser wants and get out from his research lab.
May 20, 2014 at 0:17 comment added azer89 I still have control how the paper are written. The main issue here My adviser thinks that he should rewrite the paper by his own words since he's better in English. He's correct. I can discuss with him about several paragraph, how they should be written, what are the main ideas, etc. I also contribute to the entire figure and producing the results by myself.
May 19, 2014 at 19:50 comment added Ilmari Karonen @RexKerr: Alas, no, I'm not. And there's more to the problem than just "honorary authorship"; if I do some novel research, but have no control over how that research is presented (because someone else wrote the paper, possibly in a language I don't speak), should I really count as an "author"? What if I really dislike the presentation, to the point where I'd rather not put my name on it, but I'd still like to receive credit for the research itself? The standard answer is "ask for a mention in the acknowledgements", but that's little consolation if my funding committee only looks at authorship.
May 19, 2014 at 19:35 comment added Rex Kerr @IlmariKaronen - If there were a widely-used method for determining credit other than authorship, that'd be wonderful. But I'm not aware of any--are you? As such, although the metric may be distorted by additions to the author list that are unwarranted, leaving off the people who provided most of the work and insight is not making things better! But, again, I'm not aware of a case where it's considered fine for sole authorship to go to someone who is writing up others' results. And journals do try to reign in honorary authorships, e.g. sciencemag.org/content/327/5961/12.full
May 19, 2014 at 16:45 comment added Ilmari Karonen @RexKerr: There's a deeper issue here regarding the proper way to provide credit to collaborators who contributed to the research but not directly to writing the paper. It's compounded by the widespread tacit assumption in many parts of academia that "author" = "contributor", even though in many cases this can be demonstrably false.
May 19, 2014 at 14:55 comment added Rex Kerr Any field where writing up novel results performed by others without authorship for others is intellectually bankrupt. I do not know of any such fields, so I think this answer is just wrong (or reflects a particularly unscrupulous individual or department, not a whole field). If I'm wrong, maybe a few words about which fields are like this and why it's even remotely justified are in order?
May 19, 2014 at 10:02 vote accept azer89
May 19, 2014 at 8:05 comment added azer89 Another thing, I did most of the thinking by finding the algorithms/solutions while my advisers guide me in "the big picture". In other words, they told me about "the goals" without telling me the "how to reach" the goal. Is this eligible for first author?
May 19, 2014 at 8:00 comment added Alexandros +1 You are right that writing the paper in most cases grants first authorship. But this "...be grateful for co-authorship" is a bit too much. I know some professors only "acknowledge" their students without giving them co-authorship despite the fact that students have done all the coding, experiments but that does not make it right, nor the student should be grateful if he is given the co-authorship he rightfully deserves.
May 19, 2014 at 7:59 comment added azer89 Ok, I changed the title too
May 19, 2014 at 7:54 history edited 410 gone CC BY-SA 3.0
added 283 characters in body
May 19, 2014 at 7:52 comment added azer89 I don't know fields other than CS, but I have an undergrad students who done a very good research. His writing was quite bad at that time but his adviser helped him in writing the paper, He's still the first author.
May 19, 2014 at 7:50 comment added azer89 Yeah, you make a good argument. He does write the most part of it. But it doesn't mean that I don't take any part in writing paper. I tried to write the technical parts, writing equations, etc. But He helps me to polish the grammar.
May 19, 2014 at 7:46 history answered 410 gone CC BY-SA 3.0