Skip to main content
9 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Apr 13, 2017 at 12:49 history edited CommunityBot
replaced http://academia.stackexchange.com/ with https://academia.stackexchange.com/
May 21, 2014 at 12:29 comment added JeffE Oh, you meant joint first authors. Yes, that means equal contribution.
May 20, 2014 at 21:33 comment added azer89 Hi @JeffE, could you help me to describe joint first author? I'm still new as a research student. I hope your info can help me in the future :)
May 20, 2014 at 15:59 comment added JeffE (2) In computer science, joint authors means the authors have equal contribution. — This is incorrect.
May 19, 2014 at 8:14 comment added azer89 @Alexandros, perhaps is like this: graphics.cs.kuleuven.be/publications/GLLD12GNBE
May 19, 2014 at 8:12 comment added xLeitix (1) yes, I understand, but for professors the expectation is that they publish with students usually, (2) I am also from CS, and that is incorrect, (3) maybe you want to edit your question, as this may be relevant.
May 19, 2014 at 8:11 comment added Alexandros @azer89 Your comment does not make much sense. I have never heard of "joint authors means the authors have equal contribution". In a ACM CS conference, there are (let's say) 3 names on top of the paper. All 3 names are considered co-authors. What is this "joint" authors you are talking about. Can you post an example paper at a ACM CS conference where this happens?
May 19, 2014 at 7:46 comment added azer89 Thanks thanks thanks :D I'm quite emotional right now but you made my head clearer. (1) In the country where my university is located, there is a rule that assistant professors aren't tenure and have obligation to publish. If not they can be fired. (2) In computer science, joint authors means the authors have equal contribution. (3) I forget to say one thing, I have another adviser. Let's say he's A2. The one I'm having dispute is A1. A1 contributions is writing the paper. A2 helps me with the "big picture". Because A2 is more junior than A1, A2 only becomes co-author.
May 19, 2014 at 7:29 history answered xLeitix CC BY-SA 3.0