Skip to main content
4 events
when toggle format what by license comment
May 29 at 21:22 comment added Moishe Kohan @RichardRast: Agree. Some REU write-ups are amazing even if unpublishable (due to lack originality). I especially like what Peter May does with undergrads from University of Chicago. Peter keeps these texts on his homepage.
May 29 at 13:22 comment added Richard Rast I would add to this that, while there is a not a lot of "respect" given to undergraduate theses, they can be incredibly valuable as an uncited resource. As a graduate student I was once quite confused on a particular topic (I don't recall the details now); I found a paper on it, but it left too much unsaid. I found a PhD thesis on it, but it was still too difficult, since the material was unfamiliar. I then found an undergraduate thesis written on the basics of the field, and it was one of the most readable pieces of mathematics I've ever come across, and a huge help at 'getting in the door.'
May 28 at 1:11 history edited Moishe Kohan CC BY-SA 4.0
added 7 characters in body
May 27 at 21:45 history answered Moishe Kohan CC BY-SA 4.0