Skip to main content
deleted 98 characters in body
Source Link
nograd
  • 21
  • 1
  • 4

I am currently a first year PhD student and I just finished my 2nd semester. I am an international student and I was out of academia for almost 2a few years as I was working and didn't have the habit of studying. It was difficult to get back into studying but I was passionate about my degree and research. I scored 2 Bs in my first semester, one being my advisor's class.

In the 2nd semester I took an easy class and yet I got a B- which reduced my GPA to less than 3.00 and now I am on scholastic warning, meaning that I only have the summer semester to get my GPA back up to 3.00, else I am dismissed from the university. I spoke to my advisor and he said that if I have to take a summer class, then I have to. The problem is that my department doesn't offer any grad classes during summer, especially related to my domain and there aren't much available in other related departments as well. So I guess I only have 3 more months here.

My research also isn't going well, my lab mates are very unsupportive and always try to put me down. I am basically at a dead end and don't know what to do. I feel like a failure since I had no problem in academic or research a few years back.

I am currently a first year PhD student and I just finished my 2nd semester. I am an international student and I was out of academia for almost 2 years as I was working and didn't have the habit of studying. It was difficult to get back into studying but I was passionate about my degree and research. I scored 2 Bs in my first semester, one being my advisor's class.

In the 2nd semester I took an easy class and yet I got a B- which reduced my GPA to less than 3.00 and now I am on scholastic warning, meaning that I only have the summer semester to get my GPA back up to 3.00, else I am dismissed from the university. I spoke to my advisor and he said that if I have to take a summer class, then I have to. The problem is that my department doesn't offer any grad classes during summer, especially related to my domain and there aren't much available in other related departments as well. So I guess I only have 3 more months here.

My research also isn't going well, my lab mates are very unsupportive and always try to put me down. I am basically at a dead end and don't know what to do. I feel like a failure since I had no problem in academic or research a few years back.

I am currently a first year PhD student and I just finished my 2nd semester. I am an international student and I was out of academia for a few years as I was working and didn't have the habit of studying. It was difficult to get back into studying but I was passionate about my degree and research. I scored 2 Bs in my first semester.

In the 2nd semester I took an easy class and yet I got a B- which reduced my GPA to less than 3.00 and now I am on scholastic warning, meaning that I only have the summer semester to get my GPA back up to 3.00, else I am dismissed from the university. I spoke to my advisor and he said that if I have to take a summer class, then I have to. The problem is that my department doesn't offer any grad classes during summer, especially related to my domain and there aren't much available in other related departments as well. So I guess I only have 3 more months here.

My research also isn't going well, I am basically at a dead end and don't know what to do. I feel like a failure since I had no problem in academic or research a few years back.

Post Closed as "Not suitable for this site" by Sursula, Jon Custer, Buzz, AppliedAcademic, David White
Became Hot Network Question
deleted 62 characters in body
Source Link
nograd
  • 21
  • 1
  • 4

I am currently a first year PhD student and I just finished my 2nd semester. I am an international student and I was out of academia for almost 2 years as I was working and didn't have the habit of studying. It was difficult to get back into studying but I was passionate about my degree and research. I scored 2 Bs in my first semester, one being my advisor's class. I couldn't pay much attention to research since I was TAing.

In the 2nd semester I took an easy class and yet I got a B- which reduced my GPA to less than 3.00 and now I am on scholastic warning, meaning that I only have the summer semester to get my GPA back up to 3.00, else I am dismissed from the university. I spoke to my advisor and he said that if I have to take a summer class, then I have to. The problem is that my department doesn't offer any grad classes during summer, especially related to my domain and there aren't much available in other related departments as well. So I guess I only have 3 more months here.

My research also isn't going well, my lab mates are very unsupportive and always try to put me down. I am basically at a dead end and don't know what to do. I feel like a failure since I had no problem in academic or research a few years back.

I am currently a first year PhD student and I just finished my 2nd semester. I am an international student and I was out of academia for almost 2 years as I was working and didn't have the habit of studying. It was difficult to get back into studying but I was passionate about my degree and research. I scored 2 Bs in my first semester, one being my advisor's class. I couldn't pay much attention to research since I was TAing.

In the 2nd semester I took an easy class and yet I got a B- which reduced my GPA to less than 3.00 and now I am on scholastic warning, meaning that I only have the summer semester to get my GPA back up to 3.00, else I am dismissed from the university. I spoke to my advisor and he said that if I have to take a summer class, then I have to. The problem is that my department doesn't offer any grad classes during summer, especially related to my domain and there aren't much available in other related departments as well. So I guess I only have 3 more months here.

My research also isn't going well, my lab mates are very unsupportive and always try to put me down. I am basically at a dead end and don't know what to do. I feel like a failure since I had no problem in academic or research a few years back.

I am currently a first year PhD student and I just finished my 2nd semester. I am an international student and I was out of academia for almost 2 years as I was working and didn't have the habit of studying. It was difficult to get back into studying but I was passionate about my degree and research. I scored 2 Bs in my first semester, one being my advisor's class.

In the 2nd semester I took an easy class and yet I got a B- which reduced my GPA to less than 3.00 and now I am on scholastic warning, meaning that I only have the summer semester to get my GPA back up to 3.00, else I am dismissed from the university. I spoke to my advisor and he said that if I have to take a summer class, then I have to. The problem is that my department doesn't offer any grad classes during summer, especially related to my domain and there aren't much available in other related departments as well. So I guess I only have 3 more months here.

My research also isn't going well, my lab mates are very unsupportive and always try to put me down. I am basically at a dead end and don't know what to do. I feel like a failure since I had no problem in academic or research a few years back.

deleted 86 characters in body
Source Link
Sursula
  • 21.8k
  • 8
  • 65
  • 128

I apologize as this post is a bit long.

I am currently a first year PhD student and I just finished my 2nd semester. I am an international student and I was out of academicsacademia for almost 2 years as I was working and didn't have the habit of studying. It was difficult to get back into studying but I was passionate about my degree and research. I scored 2 Bs in my first semester, one being my advisor's class. I couldn't pay much attention to research since I was doing TATAing. But in

In the 2nd semester I took an easy class and yet I got a B- which reduced my GPA to less than 3.00 and now I am on scholastic warning, meaning that I only have the summer semester to get my GPA back up to 3.00, else I am dismissed from the university. I spoke to my advisor and he said that if I have to take a summer class, then I have to. Problem The problem is that my department doesn't offer any grad classes during summer, especially related to my domain and there aren't much available in other related departments as well. So I guess I only have 3 more months here. My

My research also isn't going well, my lab mates are very unsupportive and always try to put me down. I am basically at a dead end and don't know what to do. I feel like a failure since I had no problem in academic or research a few years back. Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks

I apologize as this post is a bit long.

I am currently a first year PhD student and I just finished my 2nd semester. I am an international student and I was out of academics for almost 2 years as I was working and didn't have the habit of studying. It was difficult to get back into studying but I was passionate about my degree and research. I scored 2 Bs in my first semester, one being my advisor's class. I couldn't pay much attention to research since I was doing TA. But in the 2nd semester I took an easy class and yet I got a B- which reduced my GPA to less than 3.00 and now I am on scholastic warning, meaning that I only have the summer semester to get my GPA back up to 3.00, else I am dismissed from the university. I spoke to my advisor and he said that if I have to take a summer class, then I have to. Problem is that my department doesn't offer any grad classes during summer, especially related to my domain and there aren't much available in other related departments as well. So I guess I only have 3 more months here. My research also isn't going well, my lab mates are very unsupportive and always try to put me down. I am basically at a dead end and don't know what to do. I feel like a failure since I had no problem in academic or research a few years back. Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks

I am currently a first year PhD student and I just finished my 2nd semester. I am an international student and I was out of academia for almost 2 years as I was working and didn't have the habit of studying. It was difficult to get back into studying but I was passionate about my degree and research. I scored 2 Bs in my first semester, one being my advisor's class. I couldn't pay much attention to research since I was TAing.

In the 2nd semester I took an easy class and yet I got a B- which reduced my GPA to less than 3.00 and now I am on scholastic warning, meaning that I only have the summer semester to get my GPA back up to 3.00, else I am dismissed from the university. I spoke to my advisor and he said that if I have to take a summer class, then I have to. The problem is that my department doesn't offer any grad classes during summer, especially related to my domain and there aren't much available in other related departments as well. So I guess I only have 3 more months here.

My research also isn't going well, my lab mates are very unsupportive and always try to put me down. I am basically at a dead end and don't know what to do. I feel like a failure since I had no problem in academic or research a few years back.

Source Link
nograd
  • 21
  • 1
  • 4
Loading