Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

4
  • I hope that you are right in saying that I just have an unhealthy obsession. What if I try to pursue a PhD? Will the admission board take these mistakes seriously, i.e. will they reject me? I'm an MD trying to do my PhD
    – BrajkovicM
    Commented May 13 at 20:36
  • @BrajkovicM: The same applies: Most probably, the admission board won’t even notice. There is a tiny chance that this will tip the scales against you, but that applies to a lot of things, and almost anything else you invest your time in has a higher chance of tipping the scales for you.
    – Wrzlprmft
    Commented May 14 at 5:00
  • I would like to do a PhD in basic pharmacology. I did get a certificate for doing experiments on lab animals and I have 10 Q1 papers of original research and 3 Q1 review papers, out of which I am a first author on two. What else could I do?
    – BrajkovicM
    Commented May 14 at 5:24
  • @BrajkovicM: I am no expert on that field, so I can’t say what’s important and how valuable publications are. But I am certain that there are useful things to do, e.g., doing your current job thoroughly, writing your applications, polishing your application, learn useful skills (data analysis, programming, …), informing yourself about PhD opportunities, … When you run out of things to do, you should have long applied for your PhD.
    – Wrzlprmft
    Commented May 14 at 5:48