Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

6
  • 1
    Are you applying to PhD programs (about the only time anyone might look at it)? Are you able to request an edited version be posted instead?
    – Jon Custer
    Commented Apr 23 at 15:21
  • Thank you Nate Eldredge. Jon, yes I am applying. And theoretically I could request an edited version be posted instead, but my mentor would lose his calm if he found out.
    – BrajkovicM
    Commented Apr 23 at 15:23
  • 1
    You probably only care about academic reputation if you stay in academia. And most people do not read master's projects, but papers. So, be more careful with your first paper, and you'll be fine. Commented Apr 23 at 15:34
  • 1
    I do not know if it is an overreaction. I would like to continue my journey in academia of course. I have learnt from my mistakes and I would never ever do something similar again. I just wanted to know other opinions regarding this topic.
    – BrajkovicM
    Commented Apr 23 at 15:50
  • 3
    (1) This does not at all sound like a catastrophe. (2) You probably do not have an "academic reputation" in the first place that would need salvaging. (3) Chances are no-one is ever going to look up your Master's thesis, except possibly a grad school admission committee if you try to pursue a PhD. (4) In that scenario, they would be comparing it not with an Ideal Piece of Text but with other Master's theses, which (surprise surprise) are also filled with grammatical mistakes and "nonsensical flow". Commented May 4 at 21:22