Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

4
  • 11
    Ok, let's roll play. Let's say I am the advisor, the editor emails me. My response is: "I guided the student to do this work, the entire concept and intellectual component of this work was my own. The student provided some data analysis, however none of it was publishable in it's state. On top of that, student left without providing me a manuscript. I then went back and redid a majority of the work which I directed, provided analysis and submitted this manuscript".
    – R1NaNo
    Commented Apr 12 at 19:40
  • @R1NaNo Please note that I was assigned that reserach work (related to this topic) and I did it. After that I have been working on other topics with himand I published many papers (3 peer-review and 2 conference) after I finished the above work. He can't calim that I didn't finish this work and then left the university becuase he didn't send emails asking for additional work related to this topic.
    – Engineer
    Commented Apr 12 at 20:21
  • 2
    @Engineer Generally, the default when any complaint is received is "do nothing". So, you need overwhelming evidence on your side to prevail, enough that the journal would be embarrassed to come to any other conclusion. All the other work that you've published with this professor might even hurt your case more than it helps because it shows your advisor doesn't have a general pattern of failing to credit you. If the professor has redone all the work without directly using yours, it will be difficult to provide the convincing "smoking gun". If your word against theirs, they'll pick "no action".
    – Bryan Krause
    Commented Apr 12 at 21:58
  • 3
    Consider also that this is a serious accusation and will likely permanently degrade your relationship with this person. Are you sufficiently secure in your next career steps that you do not require their recommendation for any positions?
    – Bryan Krause
    Commented Apr 12 at 22:01