Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

8
  • 1
    For the UK, I can comment that it is quite frequent to have a detailed guideline. The details vary in between university, some are quite lax, some are very precise. I made a public Latex template for the guideline at my Uni and I spent a lot of time on it. For example page numbering in Arabic, but the preliminaries should be in Roman number. The chapter header should be font 10 points italic not bold, while the section should be... etc
    – JackRed
    Commented Apr 2 at 14:19
  • 1
    Example for Newcastle Uni, Edinburgh Uni, Leeds Uni, Heriot-Watt Uni
    – JackRed
    Commented Apr 2 at 14:23
  • During my PhD time in Germany, we had a LaTeX style file going around that satisfied the style required. The same is true for all universities in the US I've worked at. Commented Apr 2 at 15:29
  • @WolfgangBangerth: Do you happen to remember how specific those style requirements were for your thesis? Regarding the LaTeX style file: yes, using templates or style files is of course the way to go if there's a detailed style guide in place. It doesn't explain, though, why some universities consider a detailed style guide a good idea. Commented Apr 2 at 18:21
  • 1
    @WolfgangBangerth Weirdly enough, at my phd institution, they provided a LaTeX. This template had not been updated since the 90s, and didn't meet the formatting guidelines. I ended up having to build my own from scratch. I am not a TeXpert, so it is pretty kludgey, but I still get requests for the file several years on. :/ Commented Apr 3 at 17:15