Skip to main content
28 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Mar 31 at 8:25 history closed Moishe Kohan
Buffy
user366312
Brian Borchers
Sursula
Opinion-based
S Mar 30 at 19:15 history suggested cconsta1 CC BY-SA 4.0
corrected spelling
Mar 30 at 10:06 comment added JackRed Q.1 is opinion based. Q.2 is more or less Q.1 but trying not to be opinion based. Q.3 is fine. The question should probably modified to be more focused and less opinion based
Mar 30 at 7:04 review Suggested edits
S Mar 30 at 19:15
Mar 30 at 3:09 vote accept SayMyNameHeisenberg
Mar 30 at 2:29 history edited SayMyNameHeisenberg CC BY-SA 4.0
modify the question based on advice from other members.
Mar 30 at 2:09 comment added Jon Custer Irrelevant to whether your question was loaded or not. ‘They started it’ is not an excuse.
Mar 30 at 2:03 comment added SayMyNameHeisenberg @JonCuster now that comment by JRN is what you called as fully loaded and judgmental.
Mar 30 at 1:57 comment added JRN You made a mistake. The motivation for the US and Canada entry should be "A "Dr." attached to the name, a raise in salary, a promotion within the institution" and the motivation for the German entry should be "conduct scientific and applied research, career in industry, training."
Mar 30 at 1:27 answer added Allure timeline score: 3
Mar 30 at 1:13 comment added SayMyNameHeisenberg @JonCuster and you're loaded with bias and prejudice because I am only talking about this company sponsored PhD program, and you implied that I am criticizing the entire German public university's PhD programs. Well done.
Mar 30 at 0:55 comment added SayMyNameHeisenberg @JonCuster it's not USA-centric, it's academic rigorousness-centric. I've seen mathematics professors who only possess degrees from universities in Czech Republic, but they won my respect because they know what they were teaching and they know their materials well enough to explain to the students. You're the one who's presenting bias and prejudice to me. So you're ok with academics in Europe to lower the bar and quality.
Mar 30 at 0:52 comment added Jon Custer Everything after your list of German attributes is not neutral. It is highly loaded and judgmental. Get over yourself.
Mar 30 at 0:50 comment added Jon Custer And your view of a PhD program seems very USA-centric. Most of your objections apply to every European program I know of.
Mar 30 at 0:48 comment added SayMyNameHeisenberg @JonCuster no I asked politely, tell me exactly which words I used may be subjected to insultation and discrimination? I'll have them modified.
Mar 30 at 0:40 comment added Jon Custer No, that screed is not asking politely in a nice way.
Mar 30 at 0:31 comment added SayMyNameHeisenberg @ChristianHennig it is not a rant, I was asking politely in a nice way. And even if like you said that I’ve made up my mind on the answer, I am open to hear different opinions. After all, all I care is academic integrity, rather than chasing for big Dr. titles with lower standards and less rigorous works. But of course I can see why you may feel offended by the question. But it is a fact that such “PhD” programs exist in Germany.
Mar 29 at 23:59 answer added user48953094 timeline score: 1
Mar 29 at 23:53 review Close votes
Mar 31 at 8:25
Mar 29 at 23:40 comment added Moishe Kohan You should not confuse quality and quantity. For the record, I defended my PhD thesis (120 pages) after 2.5 years in graduate school. My position was fully funded and I did not have to teach when I was working towards my degree.
Mar 29 at 23:35 comment added Christian Hennig It seems you have made your mind up on the answer already, and this is more of a rant...
Mar 29 at 23:27 comment added SayMyNameHeisenberg @AlexanderWoo but that doesn't justify these German programs can call themselves Ph.D. programs at all.
Mar 29 at 23:24 comment added Alexander Woo I have some news for you: almost none of the PhD dissertations from my department (which is in the US) would've been deemed adequate at a top 5 department in my discipline in the US, nor would almost any of our PhD graduates have passed qualifying exams in those departments.
Mar 29 at 23:23 comment added Buffy That is the max time. It isn't the average. The average would be more like 3 post masters. Some programs limit the time you can spend.
Mar 29 at 23:19 comment added SayMyNameHeisenberg assuming you have a master's degree from a school, that PhD program in the US is still a five-year program, but maybe you could accelerate a bit. For CS PhD, University of Illinois says that the PhD time limit is 5 years for those who already have a MS from UIllinois. Link: cs.illinois.edu/academics/graduate/phd-program/…
Mar 29 at 23:14 comment added Buffy The five years for the US is post bachelors, not post masters.
S Mar 29 at 23:11 review First questions
Mar 30 at 1:31
S Mar 29 at 23:11 history asked SayMyNameHeisenberg CC BY-SA 4.0