Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

10
  • 3
    "For most scientists, learning LaTeX [is] something they have to do anyway." Citation needed. There are other sciences besides physics and computer science. You said "At the end of the day, people will be using a typesetting markup language" but then you talk about math typesetting. Those are different things, and even fewer scientists typeset equations. Commented Feb 29 at 15:49
  • @AzorAhai-him- True, I've made the statement on scope less general. FWIW, I would claim that many typesetting systems are conceptually similar (in the sense of "you learn programming, not language X") but indeed outside of equations this quickly becomes more abstract than concrete. Commented Feb 29 at 15:54
  • 2
    Ok, but by "people will be using a typesetting markup language" do you mean "... to typeset equations"? Most people I know write their papers in Google Docs or Word without touching a "typesetting markup language" Commented Feb 29 at 15:55
  • As a scientist with equations in almost every paper I've written, I have yet to use anything other than a WYSIWYG document creation program. Usually msword, and there usually with whatever equation tool is bundled with it. I would put forward the hypothesis that THAT and NO learned markup language is the default and dominant condition. I also expect any publisher to have a web format and PDF format display of my papers, without me doing my own markup. 99% of the time this expectation has been correct in the past 20 years. I mean, they need to use those fees for something.
    – Nick J
    Commented Mar 1 at 21:11
  • 2
    @Ooker There is a widespread What-you-see-is-what-I-see standard. It is called PDF.
    – TimRias
    Commented Mar 2 at 8:27