Skip to main content
12 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Mar 5 at 15:54 comment added Aqualone "While it isn't inappropriate per se, it is also not very productive. " This is completely untrue in certain places--see my answer below. (and: academia.meta.stackexchange.com/questions/4471/…)
Feb 15 at 16:02 vote accept codebpr
Feb 12 at 17:11 comment added fectin ...because an email from a colleague generally isn't "cold".
Feb 12 at 10:39 comment added Didier @JackAidley I get your point and I quite agree with you. But I am very unsure that this professor even remembered me, one a the numerous PhD students at that conference. If it had any impact, I would say that it was the fact that I could start my email with "We met a few years back at [...]".
Feb 12 at 10:15 comment added Jack Aidley @Didier there is a massive difference between contacting someone you met at a conference - even briefly - and cold-calling professors you have never met before.
Feb 11 at 20:18 comment added Didier @codebpr Glad it can help. I have to say that this person is a very nice person, that our interests really matched and that I really was focusing on that specific research team. Not sure this would have worked in any other circumstance. I had nothing to lose so I tried. Good luck with your applications
Feb 11 at 20:14 comment added codebpr @Didier, your experience gives me hope. It definitely depends on the Professor, not all are same, for sure. Some of them are really benevolent, like you said. Same thing happens to me when I email an author regarding some doubt related to his/her paper. Some are kind enough to give the details and some turn a blind eye to it.
Feb 11 at 20:06 comment added Didier I don't agree with this (though I don't think this deserve a downvote). I happen to have sent such an email in the past to a professor that I barely met at a conference a few years before, explaining my motivation to join his research group. He replied that, unfortunately, there was no open position yet, but that external fundings existed and strongly recommended me for these applications. He also sent my profile to one of his collegues who later opened a position. I ended up joining the team
Feb 11 at 19:36 comment added codebpr @WolfgangBangerth that is very true indeed. Also Senior Professors hardly reply to mails.
Feb 11 at 19:22 comment added Wolfgang Bangerth @codebpr They may also just not remember your name.
Feb 11 at 16:41 comment added codebpr That's a great advice. Although I have personally met many professors during conferences, I fear they might ignore my email due to their busy schedules.
Feb 11 at 16:22 history answered Buffy CC BY-SA 4.0